How to Get a Missouri Driver’s License Reinstatement

To get your Missouri driver’s license reinstated, you’ll have to file forms and pay a $25-$40 fee, but the process can be more complex for serious offenses.
Written by Samuel Todd
In some cases, getting your
Missouri driver’s license
reinstated is as simple as filling out a few forms and paying a reinstatement fee of $25 to $40.
  • To reinstate your Missouri Driver’s license, you’ll need to wait out your suspension period, file the necessary paperwork, and pay the applicable reinstatement fee and/or fines.
  • For serious offenses, you may need to file an SR-22 with your
    Missouri car insurance
    company or complete a driver’s safety course first.
  • If you need a vehicle to get to work or for another essential purpose, you may be able to apply for a hardship license.

Why you might need a license reinstatement in Missouri

Missouri Department of Revenue
has put together a detailed guide of reasons for suspension. Some
common reasons for a license suspension
  • Accumulating too many
    driver's license points
    (30-day suspension for the first offense)
  • Driving with a BAC higher than 0.08 (or 0.02 for drivers under 21)
  • Not keeping proper insurance
  • Failure to pay child support
  • Serious driving violations, like
    reckless driving
    , DUI/DWI, or vehicular manslaughter
Unfortunately, you won’t be able to simply wait out your suspension then get back behind the wheel. You’ll have to file a few forms and pay some fees before you can legally drive again.
If you’re not sure whether your license is suspended: You can buy a copy of your driving record at a Missouri license office or by calling 573-526-2407. It costs only $2.82 per record!

How to get a license reinstatement in Missouri

Depending on the reason your license is suspended, you can get it back by filing forms, paying a fee, and potentially completing a driving course or
substance awareness training

License reinstatement requirements after a driver’s license suspension

First, you need to understand why your license was suspended: Though you might already have a good idea of the reason why, you can confirm it by looking through the letter you received from the Driver License Bureau or by purchasing a copy of your driving record.
Next, see what forms you have to file, what fees you need to pay, and what courses you must take (if any). 
For example, if your license was suspended because you refused to take an alcohol or drug test, you’ll need to:
  • Pay a $45 reinstatement fee
  • File an
    form and maintain it for two years 
  • File proof that you completed a Substance Awareness Traffic Offender Program (SATOP)
  • File proof that you installed an
    ignition interlock device
The Missouri Department of Revenue does a great job of simplifying the process, so be sure to review their
license reinstatement chart
to see what your requirements are.
Once you’ve collected all the necessary forms and you’re prepared to pay the fee, bring them in person to:
Driver License Bureau
Truman State Office Building
301 West High Street, Room 470
Jefferson City, Missouri
OR mail them to:
Driver License Bureau
PO Box 200
Jefferson City, Missouri 65105-0200
If in-person payments aren’t your thing and snail mail makes your skin crawl, you can also
pay your fee online
using an approved credit or debit card.

License reinstatement after a revocation

A revocation is more severe than a suspension, but the process is similar: If you’ve had your license revoked (usually, for more than a year), you’ll have to meet all the requirements of reinstating a suspended license and pass the complete driver exam again.
Key Takeaway: Though it depends on the violation, you’ll be able to get your license reinstated by paying a fee, filing the right forms, and potentially completing a driving safety or substance awareness course. License reinstatements after a revocation take more work.

How to get a hardship license in Missouri

Let’s say your license is suspended, but you really need to be able to drive for work. This could be especially challenging if you were subject to a long five- or ten-year denial. 
The Missouri Department of Revenue allows you to apply for a hardship license, also called a
Limited Driving Privilege
or LDP.
Here’s a walkthrough of how you can get a hardship license:
The second way to apply for a hardship license:
Petition the circuit court
. This process follows similar steps, just from a different starting point.

Who isn’t eligible for a hardship license in Missouri?

Sometimes, you might not be able to get a hardship license in Missouri, no matter what. 
The Missouri Department of Revenue has a
complete list of reasons
that disqualify drivers from a hardship license. Some of the most common are:
  • You’ve been convicted of a motor vehicle felony in the last five years
  • You failed a medical or driving exam
  • You were driving with an excessive BAC (0.16 or higher)
  • You are not currently a Missouri resident

What is an SR-22 certificate?

After most license suspensions, you’ll need to fill out an SR-22 certificate, sometimes referred to as SR-22 insurance. It isn’t actually insurance, though—it’s just legal proof that you’ve met
Missouri's auto insurance minimum requirements
In Missouri, you’ll need to keep the SR-22 for two years (and drive safely during those two years). Once two years are up, you’re good to drop the SR-22 and keep driving like normal.
Keep in mind: Though filing an SR-22 only costs about $25, it’ll cause a significant jump in your
car insurance rates
, which is bad news for your bank account.
“I have a really bad record, so all of my previous insurance quotes were pretty high. I started using
and the fantastic app saved me $130 a month on my insurance.” —Jett A.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms
Find insurance savings
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings