A Georgia Super Speeder fine is an additional $200 fine that is issued on top of a regular speeding violation.
Super Speeders aren’t just costly in the short term. You will also have to pay more for your insurance after getting hit with a Super Speeder.
Here’s everything you need to know about the Georgia Super Speeder law.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
What is the Georgia Super Speeder law?
Georgia Super Speeder Lawwas introduced in 2010 to help discourage people from driving too fast.
The Super Speeder fine is an additional fee on top of an ordinary
speeding ticket. It is payable to the state rather than the jurisdiction where you get caught speeding. In this sense, a Super Speeder is more of a fine than a ticket.
If you are unlucky to get hit with this unique Peach State traffic ticket, you can expect to owe some hefty fines in the short term.
The long-term financial consequences on your insurance rates can be even harder to swallow, though. The average insurance rate increase after a Super Speeder is about $1,000 a year.
How much is the Super Speeder fee?
The initial fee for a Super Speeder is $200. On top of that, you will have to pay a fine to the jurisdiction for speeding. These speeding fees are set by the jurisdiction and will vary according to the region where you get ticketed.
Regardless of the jurisdiction, a Super Speeder violation tends to be expensive. For instance, in the jurisdiction of Hinesville, you will have to pay an additional $688 for going 24 mph or higher over the speed limit. This is in addition to the $200 fee you will have to pay for getting a Super Speeder.
How do you get a Super Speeder in Georgia?
If you are caught driving at speeds over 75 mph on a two-lane road or over 85 mph on a highway or road with more than two lanes, your speeding ticket will be upgraded to a Super Speeder.
The specific speed limit on the road you are driving on will not affect your Super Speeder fee.
The speed limit may be anywhere from 55 mph to 70 mph, but you will still get a Super Speeder if you are driving over 75 or 85 mph regardless. This means that you can still get a Super Speeder fine even if you are only driving 15 mph over the speed limit.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
Let Jerry find your price in only 45 seconds
No spam · No long forms · No fees
Does a Super Speeder go on your driving record?
You will not be deducted points for getting a Super Speeder, but
speeding violations will show up on your driving record.
You will have at least four points deducted from your license for getting a speeding ticket in Georgia.
That would climb to a six-point deduction if you were caught going at least 34 mph over the speed limit. If you live in Georgia and lose 15 points off your license in two years or less, your license will be
Key Takeaway You can have up to six points deducted from your license if you speed in Georgia.
How will a Super Speeder affect your car insurance rates?
Insurance providers will charge a higher rate for drivers who have infractions on their recent driving record. Since the Super Speeder designation is reserved for drivers who were caught driving at speeds at least 15 mph over the speed limit, there is a good chance these violations will significantly affect your insurance rates.
The good news is that some insurance providers will be more forgiving of your driving history than others. Using a powerful AI-based app like
Jerryto compare your insurance rates for free is the best way to make sure you aren’t paying more than you have to.
What can you do if you get a Super Speeder?
If you get caught for a Super Speeder, it could be worthwhile to consider hiring a lawyer. An attorney may be able to reduce the ticket and possibly remove the Super Speeder altogether.
The sooner you hire a lawyer after getting a ticket, the better your chances of getting it reduced.
How to find affordable car insurance in Georgia
Even if you get stuck with a Super Speeder, don’t despair. You can still save around $1,000 on your annual insurance rates when you use
Average Insurance Rates
Speeding ticket under 15 mph
Speeding ticket over 15 mph
Frequently asked questions
What happens if you don’t pay the fee?
When you get a Super Speeder violation, you will have 120 days to pay the fee once you receive your official notice.
If you don’t pay the fee in this timeframe, your driver's license will be suspended. If this is the case, you will also have to pay an additional $50 fine to get your license reinstated.
Do you have to go to court for a Georgia Super Speeder ticket?
As long as you pay the fine on time, you don’t have to worry about going to court for a Super Speeder.
However, if you are over the age of 21, you could end up going to court if you are charged with additional violations like a DUI.
Can you get a Super Speeder if you live out of state?
If you live out of state but are driving through Georgia, you could be ticketed as a Super Speeder. There is also a good chance that your insurance provider will find out about the violation and increase your rates.
Jerryis the easiest and most effective way to find the best insurance rates even after a violation.
A licensed broker, Jerry does all the hard work of finding the cheapest quotes from the top name-brand insurance companies and buying new car insurance.
Jerry will even cancel your old policy for you and handle your renewals so you are always getting the best rate.
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually