Driving Without Insurance in Michigan

Michigan’s penalties for driving without insurance include $200-$500 in fees, up to one year in prison, and license suspension.
Written by Kianna Walpole
Edited by Sarah Gray
Michigan car insurance rates
are among the highest in the US, with most users paying around $2,000 annually for minimum liability policies—but that doesn’t mean you can drive without it. In fact, Michigan has some of the harshest penalties for uninsured drivers, and as a high-risk driver, these charges can only increase.
  • Driving without
    auto insurance
    in Michigan can cost you up to $500 in fines, one year in jail time, and a driver’s license suspension—with a reinstatement fee of $125. 
  • Michigan law requires Michigan drivers have at least $50,000 per person/$100,000 per accident in bodily injury liability (BIL), $10,000 in property damage liability (PDL) coverage, and $1M per accident in property protection insurance (PPI).
  • Insurance companies including Auto-Owners, GEICO, and State Farm provide lower insurance coverage rates for high-risk drivers. 

What happens if you’re caught driving without car insurance in Michigan?

Drivers caught driving without proof of insurance or an active insurance policy in Michigan will be charged and prosecuted accordingly
Although the state of Michigan recognizes driving without insurance as a misdemeanor, they do not classify driving without insurance into numbered offense convictions. Rather, all convictions, whether it’s a first or subsequent, are fined and charged similarly. 
Michigan drivers operating a motor vehicle without proper insurance will be confronted with the following:
  • Fine of $200-$500
  • License suspension for 30 days
  • Potential imprisonment for up to 1 year
  • License reinstatement fees of $125
If you have an active insurance policy but no
proof of insurance
, this is seen as a separate violation. Your license will not be suspended, but you will have to pay a $25 service fee and have 14 days to prove you meet Michigan’s minimum insurance requirements.  
However, if you are convicted of driving without insurance, on top of violating other
Michigan traffic laws
, your charges and fines may increase.
Did you know? The Michigan Secretary of State and court can prevent you from renewing, transfering, and replacing your vehicle’s registration for driving without insurance, unless you prove you have a car insurance policy in place and pay a $50 fee. 

High-risk uninsured drivers must maintain SR-22 insurance for three years

In the state of Michigan, you are deemed a high-risk driver if you have multiple violations against your driving record, a DUI or DWI infraction, or a history of at-fault accidents.
If you’re deemed a
high-risk driver
by Michigan insurance providers, you may need to
file an SR-22
. An SR-22 form is filed through an insurance company that provides high-risk insurance
For high-risk Michigan drivers, the SR-22 certificate tells the state that you have purchased an insurance policy that meets or exceeds the state’s minimum insurance requirements and is filed on your behalf by an insurance provider. In other words, to apply for an SR-22 in Michigan, you will need to hold at least the minimum liability coverage limits. 

Michigan car insurance requirements

According to
Michigan car insurance laws
, all Michigan drivers are required to have at least a minimum liability insurance, which includes:
As a no-fault state, Michigan also requires most drivers to carry at least $250,000 in
personal injury protection
(PIP) and $50,000 per person/$100,000 per accident in residual liability insurance.. 
While this may already seem like a lot of coverage, most Michigan drivers will benefit from upgrading their minimum policy to a
full coverage policy
. Through a full coverage insurance policy, you will receive the minimum amount of liability insurance, in addition to
collision coverage

What happens if you’re in a car accident without insurance in Michigan?

Being involved in an auto accident isn’t easy to begin with—but not having proper insurance when in a car accident is even more difficult. 
Not only will Michigan drivers without insurance be confronted with fines and lose their driving privileges, but they will also  have to pay for damages and additional expenses out of pocket, including medical bills, lost wages, and potential legal fees. 
Driving uninsured in Michigan also impacts your ability to sue the other party for vehicle damage or medical expenses,
even if you’re not at fault
. In this case, all medical payments will fall to your health insurance, and then, potentially, your personal wallet. 
Keep in mind: Those driving uninsured in Michigan are not able to claim against the Michigan ‘Mini-Tort’ law, which would provide them with $3,000 from the at-fault driver for repair and damage costs. 

Getting car insurance as a high-risk driver in Michigan

As a Michigan driver, and more importantly, a high-risk driver, having no insurance on your car could end up costing you more than a minimum state insurance policy. 
Using the Jerry app, you can compare prices from across several insurance companies in Michigan to find the best rate that fits your budget and driving profile—all while keeping in line with Michigan car insurance laws.
Pro-tip: Make sure to search for both major insurers and smaller non-standard insurance companies in Michigan. Although most large-scale insurance providers work with high-risk drivers, you might find the best rate with a company that specializes in high-risk auto insurance.


Based on a
recent research report
done by the Insurance Information Institute, 25.5% of Michigan drivers are uninsured—the second highest number across all 50 states in the US.
Despite Michigan’s harsh penalties for not having insurance while driving, no points are placed against the driver’s history for not having proof of insurance on you at the time of ticketing. 
Operating without security refers to the operation of a vehicle or motorcycle on a highway not knowing that the owner doesn’t have the proper security protection in place—including insurance. 
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings