Driving Without Insurance in Florida

Driving without insurance in Florida can cost you up to $500 in charges and a suspended license and registration for 3 years.
Written by Kianna Walpole
Edited by R.E. Fulton
As a high-risk driver in Florida, it can be difficult to find
cheap car insurance
—but driving without auto insurance can prove to be more costly than you’d expect. Without at least
Florida’s minimum insurance coverage
, uninsured drivers can face numerous penalties and charges.
  • Driving without an insurance policy in
    could lead to charges between $150-$500 and the loss of your license and registration for up to 3 years.
  • Florida law states that all resident drivers must hold $10,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) and property damage liability (PDL). 
  • Most insurance companies in Florida, such as State Farm, GEICO, and Travelers, provide cheap car insurance for high-risk drivers. 

What happens if you’re caught driving without insurance in Florida?

If you’re caught driving in the Sunshine State without insurance, you will be subjected to both reinstatement fees and penalties. Fees will vary depending on whether it’s your first, second, or subsequent offense. In all cases, you will lose your driving privileges.
First offense
Registration and driver’s license suspension for up to 3 years
Second offense
Registration and driver’s license suspension for up to 3 years
Third and subsequent offenses
Registration and driver’s license suspension for up to 3 years
If you’re pulled over and can’t produce a copy of your Florida car insurance but can prove coverage later, you only face a mandatory $10 fee. However, it’s important to note that not having
proof of insurance
and being an uninsured motorist are two different matters
Keep in mind: Being caught falsifying declarations or
committing forgery on your car insurance
can lead to a second-degree misdemeanor charge, or up to $5,000-$15,000 in charges depending on whether it is a first or subsequent offense. 

Uninsured drivers must maintain SR-22 insurance for three years

As a high-risk driver, you may also need to
apply for an SR-22
. This can be completed through any insurance company that provides assistance to high-risk drivers
For high-risk motorists, a SR-22 certificate declares financial responsibility and must be filled out by a car insurance company on your behalf and filed with the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV). Drivers with an SR-22 in Florida must carry the minimum property damage liability and personal injury protection (PIP) required by state law, along with $10,000/$20,000 of bodily injury liability insurance. 
Drivers with DUIs need an FR-44: Florida requires drivers with DUI/DWI convictions to file an FR-44—essentially a stricter version of the SR-22 with steeper coverage requirements. With an FR-44, you’ll need to maintain at least $100,000/$300,000/$50,000 liability limits on top of the minimum personal injury protection required by law. 

Florida car insurance requirements

As a Florida resident, you are required to have both $10,000 in
property damage liability (PDL)
and $10,000 in
personal injury protection (PIP)
This is the minimum coverage needed to operate a vehicle in the state of Florida and to receive your registration and license plates. Florida does not require residents to have bodily injury liability coverage, as it is a no-fault state, but it’s recommended for added coverage.
Full coverage insurance
, in comparison to minimum insurance, includes comprehensive and collision coverage along with PDL and PIP. These additions help to pay for your vehicle repairs if it’s damaged due to natural causes, vandalism, or theft. Collision manages the damage done to your car in the event of an accident. 

What happens if you’re in a car accident without insurance in Florida?

Florida drivers involved in a car accident without coverage can attract these consequences:
  • Penalties for driving without insurance
  • Paying for all damages out of pocket (car repairs, property damage)
  • Payment for any additional accident-related charges (medical bills, loss of wages)
In the case that the other driver sues, you may also be responsible for paying judgements and settlements, as well as lost wages due to ongoing battles. 
If you’re not at fault, you can still file a claim with the at-fault driver’s liability insurance for any damage caused to your vehicle—but without the personal injury protection required by Florida’s no-fault laws, you’ll have to rely on health insurance alone to handle your medical expenses. 
Therefore, as a high-risk driver, it’s important to make sure to have the correct liability insurance in place to properly protect yourself.

Getting car insurance as a high-risk driver in Florida

Getting car insurance as a high-risk driver can be a challenge, but your best bet is to compare quotes from multiple providers to find the lowest rate for your profile. 
Pro tip: Include both major insurers and smaller non-standard insurance companies in your search. While many major insurance companies work with high-risk drivers, you might find the best rate with a company that specializes in high-risk auto insurance. 
is an independent insurance agency and broker app that partners with dozens of the top-rated insurance companies in Florida. Whether you’re a high-risk driver or simply experiencing a lapse in your current policy, Jerry can help you compare the lowest rates for both minimum and
full coverage options in Florida


If your insurance claim is rejected, you can try to either appeal the decision, file a lawsuit, or negotiate settlement deals. 
Another solution is to check out the Florida Automobile Joint Underwriting Association (FAJUA), the assigned risk pool for Florida drivers who can’t find coverage on the regular market. FAJUA coverage can be more expensive than other policies, but is designed to provide insurance to high-risk drivers in Florida who are unable to obtain a policy through other companies. 
Both insurance ID cards and proof of coverage letters from your insurer are considered proof of insurance in Florida. Florida recognizes both digital and paper formats. 
Yes. To qualify, Florida drivers must have a notarized financial statement to declare that their net worth is no less than $40,000. Motorists must also provide an active social security number and driver’s license.
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings