What Are the Car Seat Laws in Colorado?

Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
  • What is it?
  • Noncompliance
  • Record impacts
  • Insurance impacts
  • Cheap insurance
Colorado car seat laws require that children under the age of eight or less than 4’9” tall ride in a child safety seat or a booster seat.
Children must be strapped into a harnessed, manufacturer-approved child safety seat until the age of four, at which point they can change to a booster seat—as long as they weigh more than 40 pounds.
Failing to abide by Colorado’s car seat laws will net you fines, court fees, and even car insurance price hikes for repeat offenders. While the laws can be a little confusing, the car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry has you covered with a full breakdown of the basics.
To make sure your kids are safely secured every time you hit the road, read on to learn everything you need to know about Colorado car seat laws.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

What is the Colorado car seat law?

The car seat laws in Colorado vary depending on the age of the child:
  • Infants less than 12 months old must be in a rear-facing child safety seat with a harness (and should stay in one for as long as possible)
  • Infants who outgrow rear-facing seats can switch to front-facing, manufacturer-approved seats
  • Children who exceed the weight limit of harnessed seats (around 40 pounds) can move into a booster seat and use a seat belt, where they must remain until they turn eight, grow to 4’9” tall, or weigh 80 pounds
Colorado requires that rear-facing child safety seats be placed in the back seat of the car.
Key Takeaway Passengers weight less than 40 pounds must be strapped into a rear- or front-facing, manufacturer-approved child safety seat.

What are the penalties for breaking the car seat law in Colorado?

Breaking a car seat law is regarded as a Class B infraction in Colorado and will incur a minimum fine of $65 and a surcharge of $6 for a first-time violation.
Offenders under the age of 18 will pay more. If you’re a second-time offender under 18, you can garner $130 in fines. A third time will set you back $195.
Colorado will waive the fines if you can provide proof of purchase of a manufacturer-approved child safety seat or booster seat.
It’s also worth noting that Colorado regards car seat laws as a primary enforcement action. That means a driver doesn’t have to be pulled over for a different infraction before being cited for violating this particular law. In short, police have their eyes out for this one.

Can breaking the car seat law impact my driving record?

Probably not. As long as you’re over 18, there won’t be any demerit points on your license—although it will show up on your driving record.
For those under 18, violating the Colorado car seat law is considered a Class A infraction and will result in two demerit points.
It’s also worth noting that even minor infractions will add up and can make your driving record look worse. That could be a problem for insurance or in legal cases. It’s always better to just follow the rules and keep your kids safely buckled in.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

How breaking car seat laws can impact insurance in Wisconsin

As long as you’re over 18, breaking the car seat law in Colorado won’t add any points to your license, so your insurance premiums likely won’t increase.
That doesn’t mean you’ll get away with it, though. Insurance companies are wary about repeated infractions on your record and could hike premiums if little mistakes start to add up.
For drivers under 18, having two demerit points on your license will probably increase your insurance premiums.
Failing to pay a ticket for violating a car seat law can impact your credit, too, which can make insurers in some states wary.
Key Takeaway While one violation won’t hurt your premiums, repeated infractions make car insurance providers see you as higher risk.

Finding cheap car insurance

Regardless of your age and the state of your driving record, having the right car insurance is vital. To find the best option at the best price point, try Jerry.
As a licensed broker, Jerry handles all the hardest (and most time-consuming!) parts of finding car insurance. From gathering quotes from up to 50 providers to finalizing your coverage to canceling your old policy, Jerry has you covered.
And to ensure you always have the lowest rate, Jerry will send you new quotes every time your policy comes up for renewal—so you’re always getting the coverage you want at the best price. This level of service is why Jerry earned a 4.6/5 rating on the App Store and made it the top insurance app in the country.
“Been shopping around for the best deals on auto insurance for over a month. All advertising “cheapest rates”, it was a nightmare! I ran across Jerry, hassle free, I customized my policy and got what I wanted with a reputable company for $40 less than the cheapest quote I got from all 21 others.” —Satisfied Jerry user
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
avatar
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
avatar
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
avatar
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free