Car Seat Laws in Arkansas

Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Car seat laws in Arkansas require that all children up to the age of 16 be appropriately secured while traveling in a moving vehicle. The laws aren’t specific on what sorts of restraint systems should be used for which age group, but they do recommend that drivers follow the American Academy of Pediatrics guidelines for proper restraint systems for each stage of a child’s development.
Arkansas car seat laws are designed to protect children from bodily harm in the event of an accident. That’s why the car insurance broker and comparison shopping app Jerry has compiled everything you need to know to adhere to Arkansas’ car seat laws.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

What is the car seat law in Arkansas?

In the state of Arkansas, child passengers up to age six (or 60 pounds) must be secured in a child safety seat. A safe practice, however, is for children to remain in a booster seat after they outgrow their car seats or until they are at least eight years old or 4’9” tall.
Children between the ages of six and fifteen who weigh over 60 pounds must wear a seatbelt.
Key Takeaway Arkansas car seat laws are on the lax side, so make sure you check out the American Academy of Pediatrics guidelines for more information on proper restraint systems.

What are the penalties for breaking the car seat law in Arkansas?

Violating Arkansas’ car seat law can incur a fine between $25-$100.
You can have the minimum fine reimbursed if you demonstrate that you have purchased and correctly installed the appropriate restraint system for your child(ren).
Key Takeaway Buying a proper restraint system after you receive a ticket might help you get your fine reimbursed.

Can breaking the car seat law impact my driving record?

Violating Arkansas’ car seat laws does not incur any points on your driver’s license or any other penalties, barring fines.
That being said, the citation, like others, may show up on your driving record.

How breaking car seat laws can impact insurance in Arkansas

Citations for violating Arkansas’ seat belt laws may show up on your driving record, which insurance companies consider when determining your insurance premiums.
More citations may mean you are considered a high-risk driver, and your premiums may increase as a result.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

Finding cheap car insurance

If you have a less than perfect driving record, that doesn’t automatically bar you from finding cheap car insurance. Or if you have a spotless record and you’re looking to save some money, in either case, call on Jerry to help!
Jerry is a licensed brokerage app that just takes a few details and shops around for the best policies at great rates. You don’t need a perfect driving record to save money with Jerry on your side.
“Best Auto Insurance shopping app out there! If you’re shopping for car insurance, shop no further!! Jerry’s made shopping for car insurance the easiest experience I’ve ever had!!” - Satisfied Jerry user
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
avatar
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
avatar
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
avatar
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free