Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
Arizona car seat laws require that children under the age of eight must use an appropriate child restraint system.
Breaking car seat laws could earn you fines, along with putting young passengers in danger.
That’s why the car insurance broker and comparison shopping app Jerry has compiled everything you need to know to adhere to the car seat laws in Arizona.
What is the car seat law in Arizona?
Children under 8 years old—or less than 4 feet 9 inches—must use a federally approved child restraint system. This can include a booster seat, car seat, convertible seat, or other approved system.
Arizona child car seat laws say that kids between 8 and 16 years old must use the vehicle’s seat belt.
Car seat laws in Arizona do not offer any guidelines about younger children, but experts recommend that children under 2 years old use rear-facing systems. The general consensus is that back seat safety seats are the safest for most kids until the age of 10 or 11, when they can comfortably wear adult-size seat belts.
Key Takeaway Children under the age of eight in Arizona need to ride in a federally approved child restraint system.
What are the penalties for breaking the car seat law in Arizona?
It’s considered a secondary infraction to break the car seat law in Arizona. You will be charged a fine between $50 and $176. If you can prove that you obtain an approved child restraint system after being ticketed, your fee could be waived.
Key Takeaway Breaking the car seat law in Arizona will earn you a fine of up to $176.
Can breaking the car seat law impact my driving record?
In Arizona, you will not get any points added to your record if you break the child car seat laws.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
How breaking car seat laws can impact insurance in Arizona
In the state of Arizona, you will not get points if you are ticketed for breaking the child car seat laws.
It’s important to pay your fees immediately or else it may harm your credit score. In Arizona, it is legal for car insurance companies to consider your credit score when calculating your premium. So a lower credit score could trigger a higher insurance payment.
Tickets also appear on your driver abstract, which your insurance company may have access to. That means if you wrack up lots of tickets, it could potentially impact your insurance premiums (not for the better).
Finding cheap car insurance
If you want to save money on car insurance, the Jerry app is a good place to start. A licensed broker, Jerry does all the hard work of finding the cheapest quotes from the top name-brand insurance companies and buying new car insurance.
Jerry will even cancel your old policy for you.
And to ensure you always have the lowest rate, Jerry will send you new quotes every time your policy comes up for renewal, so you’re always getting the coverage you want at the best price.
This level of service is why Jerry earned a 4.6/5 rating on the App Store and made it the top insurance app in the country.
The best part? The average driver saves $879 on car insurance a year!
"The service is absolutely phenomenal. Got a great deal in 7 minutes flat!" - Satisfied Jerry User
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually