Car Seat Laws in Alaska

Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Car seat laws in Alaska require car seats and booster seats for different ages, heights, and weights. As such, it is important to stay informed so that you know what restraint system your child needs to stay safe.
Alaska car seat laws are designed to protect children from bodily harm in the event of an accident. That’s why the car insurance broker and comparison shopping app Jerry has compiled this quick and easy reference guide to Alaska’s car seat laws.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

What is the car seat law in Alaska?

Alaska’s car seat laws are a bit more comprehensive than some other states, primarily because they break down by a child’s age, height, and weight. The laws work as followed:
  • Children less than one year old, or fewer than 20 pounds, should be secured in a rear-facing car seat.
  • Children between the ages of one and five and weighing at least 20 pounds should be secured in a forward-facing car seat.
  • Children between the ages of four and eight who weigh between 20 and 65 pounds and are shorter than 57 inches should be secured in a booster seat.
Key Takeaway Alaska’s laws have different restraint requirements depending on a child’s age, height, and weight.

What are the penalties for breaking the car seat law in Alaska?

Breaking Alaska’s car seat law is considered an infraction that will result in a $50 fine. You may also incur points on your license.
You may get the points and the citation waived if you prove to the court within 30 days that you’ve purchased a proper restraint system for your child. This only applies to your first citation — subsequent violations may not be waived.

Can breaking the car seat law impact my driving record?

Yes. The infraction and demerit points will show up on your driving record.
Accumulating a certain number of points on your record can have more dire consequences, including suspension of your license. The first citation for breaking Alaska’s car seat laws may be waived, but not any subsequent offenses.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

How breaking car seat laws can impact insurance in Alaska

Having infractions and demerit points on your driving record is a warning sign to insurance companies that you are a high-risk driver and might result in your car insurance rates going up.
The more points and infractions you have, the higher your risk is determined to be. This means that your insurance premiums will likely go up, and some insurance companies may even refuse to insure you at all.
Key Takeaway Demerit points and infractions may raise your insurance rates.

Finding cheap car insurance

Keeping your record clean can help keep your insurance cheap, but finding cheap car insurance doesn’t have to be difficult if you have a spotty record either.
Jerry makes it easy to find the coverage you can afford, and all you have to provide is some basic info. Within minutes, Jerry will bring you dozens of quotes from reputable insurance companies, and all you have to do is take your pick. Jerry handles all the rest, including finalizing paperwork and canceling your old policy.
“This was the easiest thing I ever used. They didn’t ask for much info, just the obvious info. Within moments, they came back with several great options for me to choose from.” - Satisfied Jerry user
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
avatar
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
avatar
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
avatar
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free