What is the Driving Age in Alabama?

You can get your graduated driver’s license at 15 in Alabama, and if you follow these rules and drive safely, you should have your full license by the time you’re 17.
Written by Matt Nightingale
Reviewed by Kathleen Flear
The state of
Alabama
introduced its Graduated Driver’s License Program in November of 2015 in order to help young drivers safely develop into competent drivers by the time they turn 18.
Getting your driver’s license as a teenager can be a pretty big deal. That little card in your wallet can open up new worlds and new opportunities. But the legal driving age is different from state to state, so
car insurance
app and licensed broker,
Jerry
has put together this handy guide to getting your first driver's license in the state of Alabama.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms
Find insurance savings

What is the driving age in Alabama?

In Alabama, you must be at least 15 years old to obtain a Graduated Driver’s License. You can apply for your full, unrestricted driver's license at 17 years of age.

What is the Graduated Drivers License program in Alabama?

Many states have turned to a Graduated Driver’s License Program (GDL) to combat the rising numbers of teen driver fatalities in traffic accidents. And data shows that GDL works. The IIHS reports that jurisdictions that have implemented a graduated licensing system report a
reduction in teen traffic accidents
between 10–30 percent
Alabama launched its Graduated Driver’s License Program in 2015, and it breaks down into three stages:
  • Learner’s license (
    driver's permit
    )
  • Provisional license
  • Full (Adult) license
MORE: What happens if you get caught driving without your driver’s license?

How to get your learner’s permit in Alabama

All drivers under 18 adhere to the state’s graduated licensing system by completing a period of driving with a learner’s license and a provisional license before they are allowed to apply for a full or adult driver’s license. To apply for a
graduated driver’s license
, you must provide the following:
  • Original or certified U.S. birth certificate (no photocopies accepted)
  • Social Security number
  • Proof of enrollment in school or certificate of graduation
  • Proof of enrolment in a state-approved driver’s education class if you are 15 years old
  • Learner’s permit test fee—$5
  • License fee—$36.25
  • Pass a written test
The written test covers traffic signs and traffic laws knowledge. It is a 30-question multiple-choice test. It is not an open book, and you must get 24 answers correct to get your learner’s permit. Once you’ve passed, you’ll be required to pay a license fee of $36.25.
All the information you need to do well on the test can be found in the
Alabama Driver's Handbook
and will likely be covered in any driver education classes you take.

Learner’s permit restrictions

In Alabama holders of a learner’s driver’s license must be accompanied by a licensed driver over the age of 21. The accompanying person must be in the front passenger seat at all times.

How to get your provisional driver’s license in Alabama

You’ll need to hold on to your learner’s license for at least six months, and you must be at least 16 years of age before you can apply for your provisional driver’s license. In order to obtain your provisional license you’ll need to do the following:
  • Hold learner’s permit for a minimum of six months
  • Complete and provide verification of 50 hours of behind-the-wheel practice, or
  • Provide verification of completion of state-approved driver education course
  • Provide parental, grandparental, or guardian-signed permission to drive unsupervised
  • Pass a road skills exam
  • Two forms of identification (one of which has a photo), or three non-photo ID
  • Social Security card or Medicare/Medicaid card
  • Proof of school enrollment or proof of graduation
When you take your road skills test, you’ll need to bring a safe vehicle in good working order, and you may need to show
proof of insurance
.
MORE: 8 common mistakes new drivers make right after getting their license
Key Takeaway Make sure you bring your learner’s permit with you to your road test and ensure that you have a fully insured road-ready vehicle to take your examination in. 

Provisional driver’s license restrictions

During the provisional stage, drivers are allowed no more than one non-family passenger at any given time. Drivers with a provisional license are also not allowed to drive between the hours of midnight and 6 a.m and they are not allowed to use any handheld devices, such as a smartphone while operating a vehicle.

Exceptions

There are some exceptions to the time restriction outlined above. In Alabama, young drivers with a provisional license may drive alone between the hours of midnight and 6 a.m. if:
  • Accompanied by a parent or legal guardian
  • Accompanied by a licensed driver over 21 years of age with parental consent
  • Driving to and from their place of work
  • Driving to and from a religious event
  • Driving to and from a school-related event
  • Driving due to emergency—fire, medical, or law enforcement
  • Driving to and from hunting or fishing activities with proper licenses in tow
MORE:

How to save on car insurance in Alabama

When you finally hit the road with your full license, you’ll want to make sure you’re protected with good car insurance. You can find the
best deal on car insurance
by using the Jerry app.
Jerry searches the world over for the most competitive
car insurance quotes
and shows you the ones that give you the coverage you need at the best price. And Jerry is a
licensed broker
, so you can actually cancel your old policy and start up with your new one right in the app.
And Jerry doesn’t stop there. When it’s time to renew, you’ll get another bunch of competitive quotes, so you’ll always have the best rate on car insurance.
“I’m a young adult in college. I paid overpriced insurance regularly, until
Jerry
found me a fast and easy quote. It reduced my costs by 60%.” —Niveah M.
Compare insurance quotes from 50+ carriers with Jerry in under 45 seconds
Compare insurance quotes from 50+ carriers with Jerry in under 45 seconds
icon4.7/5 rating on the App Store | Trusted by 5+ million customers and 7 million cars
icon4.7/5 app rating | Trusted by 5M+ drivers

FAQs

A graduated license is a three-stage licensing system meant to help teach young drivers to become competent and safe motorists. The three stages of the graduated license system in Alabama are: Learner’s Permit, Provisional License, Full (Adult) License.
Sixteen-year-old drivers with a provisional license are allowed no more than one non-family passenger at any given time, and they are not allowed to drive between the hours of midnight and 6 a.m. with some exceptions.
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings