What is the penalty for driving without car insurance in Oregon?

I have a 2015 Toyota 4Runner and feel I pay way too much for car insurance. What happens if I let my policy lapse?

Answer
“In Oregon, you could face financial repercussions for driving without legally acceptable car insurance.
In Oregon, this include:
The consequences for not meeting these insurance requirements include a fine of $130 to $1,000, depending on the circumstances in which you’re caught without insurance. You will also face automatic suspension of your license and revocation of your registration. You’ll also be ordered to purchase SR-22 coverage through your insurance carrier.
If you think you’re paying too much for car insurance, rather than let your policy lapse, try using a smart app like Jerry to help you compare quotes from top providers and find the lowest rates in minutes.”
avatar
Sophie Newman
Answered on Aug 03, 2021
Sophie Newman is a writer from California. Her hobbies include brewing her own kombucha, riding horses, and taking long road trips.
thumb-up

Did this answer help you?

Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
thumb-up

Have a different question?

You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.

Read advice from car experts at Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free