What is the penalty for driving without a license in Maryland?

I'm relatively new to the state but haven't gotten my license yet. What are the fines if I get caught without it?

Answer
“Driving or attempting to drive without a license on Maryland roads carries a maximum penalty of 60 days in jail and a $500 fine.
Maryland law requires that new residents to the State of Maryland eligible for driver’s licenses obtain their Maryland driver’s license within the first 60 days of being in Maryland.
To drive legally in Maryland, you’ll also need a vehicle that meets the state minimum car insurance requirements.”
avatar
Sophie Newman
Answered on Jul 27, 2021
Sophie Newman is a writer from California. Her hobbies include brewing her own kombucha, riding horses, and taking long road trips.
thumb-up

Did this answer help you?

Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
thumb-up

Have a different question?

You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.

Read advice from car experts at Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free