Maryland Car Insurance Laws

Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
The state of Maryland requires drivers to carry a minimum amount of car insurance.
The liability insurance minimums for Maryland are summarized as 30/60/15 (meaning, $30,00 of bodily injury liability per person; $60,000 of bodily injury liability per accident; and $15,000 of property liability per accident). Drivers must also carry the same limits in of 30/60/15 in uninsured motorist coverage and $2500 per person in Personal injury protection (PIP) insurance.
The car insurance shopping app Jerry has put together all the information you need to know about Maryland car insurance laws and what your minimum limits cover.
Jerry is basically a personal insurance broker that lives in your pocket. But don’t worry about buying tiny office furniture, Jerry is an app.
Once you download Jerry, just answer a handful of questions and you’ll immediately get cheap car insurance quotes for coverage similar to your current plan. Jerry customers save an average of $879 a year. Oh, and Jerry is free.
Continue reading on to learn more about Maryland car insurance laws.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

What insurance do I need in Maryland?

Maryland drivers must carry a minimum amount of liability coverage, uninsured motorist insurance, and personal injury protection insurance when they are behind the wheel. Drivers must also be able to show valid proof of insurance when asked by law enforcement.
Lease or loan agreements might contractually require you to buy full coverage insurance. But you don’t have to carry comprehensive insurance and collision insurance to meet state requirements.
Here is a summary of the minimum insurance requirements for Maryland.
Required Maryland minimum car insurance
Type of coverageMinimum insurance limit
Minimum liability coverage30/60/15
Bodily injury per accident$30,000
Bodily injury per person$60,000
Property damage per accident$15,000
Uninsured motorist coverage30/60/15
Bodily injury per accident$30,000
Bodily injury per person$60,000
Property damage per accident$15,000
Personal injury protection (PIP)$2500

What is uninsured and underinsured motorist insurance?

Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage will protect you if you get in an accident caused by a driver who doesn’t have enough—or any—car insurance. Maryland requires drivers to carry the same 30/60/15 limits they carry in liability insurance.
Maryland requires drivers to carry uninsured/underinsured coverage for both bodily injury liability and property damage liability.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

What is personal injury protection (PIP) insurance?

Personal injury protection (PIP) insurance kicks in to help cover your medical expenses after an accident. Personal injury protection will also help cover lost wages or other costs relating to an injury—no matter who was at fault.

Liability insurance in MD

Drivers in Maryland have to carry the minimum limits of bodily injury liability and property damage liability insurance. Liability insurance will help cover the costs of injuries or damage to another party’s car if you are at fault, but it won’t help cover your own expenses.
Key Takeaway Maryland drivers need to carry liability insurance to help cover the other party’s expenses in an at-fault accident

What are the mandated car insurance limits in Maryland?

Maryland drivers need to carry both liability coverage and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage limits of 30/60/15, as well as a $2500 limit in personal injury protection coverage.
The following is a more detailed breakdown of how Maryland minimum insurance requirements work.
Your insurance company will pay up to $30,000 per person to help cover the cost of injuries resulting from an at-fault accident (or an accident with an at-fault driver who doesn’t have enough insurance).
$60,000 of bodily injury liability and uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily liability coverage per accident
$60,000 is the total amount that your insurance company will pay out to cover the costs of injuries for the other party in an at-fault accident (or in an accident with an at-fault driver who doesn’t have enough insurance).
$15,000 in property damage liability and uninsured/underinsured motorist property damage liability per accident
Your insurance company will pay up to $15,000 to cover the cost of property damage for other parties in an at-fault accident (or for your own property damage in an accident with an at-fault driver without enough insurance).
$2500 of personal injury protection (PIP) coverage per person
$2500 is the total amount that your insurance company will pay out to cover the costs of injuries to you and your passengers, regardless of fault.

Should I get more coverage than Maryland’s required insurance minimum?

Maryland requires drivers to carry more insurance than most states—but there are still plenty of situations where you could be left without sufficient coverage.
For example, if you are at fault for an accident, your minimum liability requirements will only help cover costs for the other drivers involved. You will need additional coverage to protect your car. In addition, medical expenses in an accident can easily exceed the $2500 PIP per person limit.
If you’re hesitant to switch plans or upgrade your policy because you’re worried about the work involved, don’t be. Jerry does all the paperwork for you. You’ll never have to print out anything, go to the post office, or get on the phone. Jerry handles it all. Really!
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

What is the penalty for not having car insurance in Maryland?

If you are caught driving without proof of insurance in Maryland, you could face potential fines and penalties.
Penalties for not having car insurance in Maryland
  • Fines up to $1000
  • Possible jail time (up to a year)
  • License plate confiscation
  • Fines for insurance lapses
Key Takeaway Driving without insurance in Maryland is illegal. If you are caught doing so, you may have to pay fines, lose your plates, or even face jail time.

Additional coverage options

Drivers in Massachusetts can improve their coverage by adding the following insurance options to their policy.

Gap insurance

If your loaned or leased car is totaled after an accident, gap insurance will help make up the difference between your payout and any additional money you owe on your loan.

Rental car reimbursement insurance

Rental reimbursement insurance will help cover your transportation costs while your car is getting repaired following a claim.

Roadside assistance insurance

Roadside assistance coverage is a common policy rider that gives you access to various emergency roadside services, like fuel delivery and tows.

Collision insurance

Collision insurance will help cover the cost of the damage to your car after an accident or collision—regardless of who was at fault.

Comprehensive insurance

Comprehensive insurance will help cover non-driving-related damage to your car, like theft and storm damage.

Why is Maryland considered a diminished value state?

Drivers in Maryland can make diminished value claims that will help them recover losses to the value of their vehicle after a claim. If you sell your car after an accident, you can make a diminished value claim through the at-fault driver’s insurance company.
A car will lose some of its resale value after an accident—even after it is restored to the same condition that it was in before the accident.
Maryland is one of 15 states that allows you to make a diminished value claim so you can recoup any lost value if you decide to sell your car after a claim.
You need to meet the following criteria to make a diminished value claim in Maryland:
  • You were not found to be at fault in the accident
  • You can provide reliable documentation, like proof of your car’s value, the repair record, and photo evidence
  • It hasn’t been more than three years since the claim was made
  • The at-fault driver had insurance
Key Takeaway Diminished value claims can help make up any value your car lost after repairs.

How to get cheap car insurance in Maryland

There is no set rate for an insurance policy in Maryland—meaning the best way to find a great deal on your insurance is to shop around. If you’d rather leave the hard work of gathering quotes to someone else, use Jerry. This free app can collect quotes from up to 45 top insurance companies in seconds!
This Jerry user was thrilled with their experience, giving the app five stars:
“Jerry is hands down the best auto insurance shopping app out there. Once you purchase through Jerry they continue to shop for you months before your policy is up for renewal!! Not to mention the superb customer service—they got me all the paperwork I needed to go to the registry and made sure that I was all set up. Try the Jerry app. You will not be disappointed.”—Satisfied Jerry user
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

FAQs

Can you drive a car without insurance in Maryland?

No. Maryland requires all drivers to carry proof of insurance or face criminal misdemeanor charges.

Does Maryland have no-fault or at-fault vehicle insurance?

Maryland is an at-fault or tort state. However, drivers in Maryland are still required to carry $2500 of personal injury protection insurance.
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
avatar
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
avatar
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
avatar
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free