How long can you go without car insurance in West Virginia?

How long do I have to buy insurance before it's illegal? I just bought a car from a friend and haven't registered it or purchased insurance in my name.

Answer
“Driving without car insurance is illegal in West Virginia.
If you have an existing insurance policy and are waiting to add your vehicle, most companies will have a period of two to four days in which your new vehicle will be automatically covered under your existing policy.
If you’re saying that you have no car insurance at all, you’re playing with fire.
West Virginia has some of the strictest laws in the country. As a result, you may incur:
  • Fines of up to $5,000
  • Suspended license until proof of insurance is given
  • A jail term of 15 days to 1 year if you can’t pay the fines
  • Up to $150 in reinstatement fees
  • Required SR22 for three years
If you’re caught without proof of insurance in West Virginia but you have coverage, the state will give you 30 days to fix the problem before revoking your license and registration or levying fees.”
avatar
Sophie Newman
Answered on Jul 22, 2021
Sophie Newman is a writer from California. Her hobbies include brewing her own kombucha, riding horses, and taking long road trips.
thumb-up

Did this answer help you?

Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
thumb-up

Have a different question?

You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies