How late can you be on a car insurance payment?

I lost my job during the pandemic and I am struggling financially; I don't think I can make my insurance payment this month. How late can I be with my payment without losing coverage? I live in New Jersey, if state laws make a difference.

Answer
I’m so sorry to hear that! But missing a payment isn’t the end of the world, especially right now—and I’m happy to say that in New Jersey, you have 90 days before your coverage will lapse.
As of 2020, insurers in New Jersey are required to have a grace period in which you are still covered in the event of an accident. The grace period is a minimum of 90 days for home, renter’s, car, and life insurance, and 60 days for health and dental insurance.
If your insurance is too expensive, you can also try to find a new insurer with a lower rate. The easiest way to do this is through the Jerry app. We’ll collect customized quotes for you, so all you need to do is compare prices and find the best insurance for you at the lowest price possible.
Best of luck, and hopefully your financial straits improve soon!
Liz Jenson
Answered on Nov 16, 2021
thumb-up

Did this answer help you?

Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
thumb-up

Have a different question?

You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.
Let Jerry’s experts help you find savings on your car insurance!
No long forms or spam · Get quotes from 40+ carriers
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
rating primary
4.7/5 Rating on App Store

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free