Losing your license can feel like a big deal, which is why Oklahoma has made the replacement process so easy! All you need to do is go to your local DPS office and provide them with two forms of ID and pay a $25 fee.
It may take the Department of Public Safety (DPS) a few weeks to mail your license, so don’t expect anything right away. Keep in mind that driving without a license can come with serious penalties, so it’s best to stay off the road while you wait for your new license.
We know how frustrating losing your license can be. That’s why the
car insurance super app
Jerry is here to help you replace your Oklahoma driver’s license. Stick around for some bonus tips for how to save on your
Oklahoma insurance costs.
Compare insurance quotes from 50+ carriers with Jerry in under 45 seconds
How to replace a lost driver’s license in Oklahoma
Whether your wallet was stolen or you accidentally left your license somewhere, you can replace an Oklahoma driver’s license relatively quickly. Here is everything you need to know about replacing your license in Oklahoma.
Replacing a lost Oklahoma license online
Many states have implemented online or mail processes to help drivers replace lost licenses. Unfortunately, Oklahoma does not have any remote license replacement options.
To replace an Oklahoma driver’s license, you’ll need to go in person to a local DPS branch.
Replacing a lost Oklahoma license in person
Since Oklahoma doesn’t have any online or mail-in options for replacing your license, you’ll need to make an appointment at a local DPS office to replace your license. When it’s time for your appointment, be sure to bring two of the following forms of ID:
Certified birth certificate
Citizenship or naturalization documents
School or employer ID card
Once you’ve provided the DPS with proof of identification, you’ll be required to pay a $25 license fee. But after that, you’re done!
From there, you can simply sit back and wait for your new license to arrive by mail. Unfortunately, license deliveries take a few weeks, so you won’t be able to get back on the road straight away.
What if you lose your Oklahoma license out of state?
Let’s say you lose your license while out of state. You can’t go into the DPS in person, so what do you do?
Oklahoma will allow you to replace a license by mail if you’re away when you lose it. Simply send the following to the DPS to replace your license while in another state:
Two certified copies of official identification from the list above
Check or money order to the Department of Public Safety for $10
Once you’ve gathered all your documents, pack them in an envelope and send them to the following address:
Department of Public Safety
Driver License Examining, Renewal By Mail
PO Box 11415
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, 73136
Once the DPS receives your application for a new license, you should expect your replacement within a few weeks.
How to save money on car insurance in Oklahoma
Since you’re already taking the time to replace your driver’s license, take an extra minute to save on car insurance with
Jerry. A licensed broker and
trusted comparison tool, the Jerry app helps users save an average of $800+ a year on car insurance.
All you need to do is download the app, answer a few questions, and let Jerry send a list of personalized quotes sourced from over 50 top providers like Progressive, Allstate, and Nationwide straight to your phone.
When you find a quote you like, Jerry can help you switch plans and even help cancel your old policy—no paperwork, phone calls, or headaches required!
“I was paying roughly $180 a month for insurance, but
Jerry hooked me up with an Allstate full-coverage plan for only $89! I’m so glad I trusted Jerry to find me a better plan.” —David A.
This app is great, but the customer service is even better! Not to mention convenient! My husband and I got the lowest rate (much lower than the rates I was finding online through my own searches), quickly, and pretty much all through text message! Thank you so much for a hassle free experience👍