New Hampshire Move Over Law

In New Hampshire, failure to slow down and move over for roadside emergencies and stopped emergency vehicles with flashing lights could cost you over $75.
Written by Samuel Todd
Reviewed by Jessica Barrett
background
Under New Hampshire law, you must slow down and move over for roadside emergencies and stopped emergency vehicles with flashing lights. If you don’t, you could face a fine of over $75.
Even though a leading cause of death for emergency workers is being struck by passing vehicles, fewer than 30% of Americans are aware of their state’s move over law. Since 1994, states have been passing move over laws to protect their police officers, firefighters, and paramedics.
In 2008, New Hampshire passed a move over law of its own. Because each state’s law is a little different, it’s important that you know the details for your state. That’s why
car insurance
comparison and broker app
Jerry
has put together everything you need to know about the New Hampshire move over law and how to reduce
New Hampshire insurance costs
.
rating reverse-full
"I’m earning
awesome rewards
every week, just for driving safe!”

What is the move over law in New Hampshire?

If you see a roadside emergency or stopped emergency vehicle ahead of you, New Hampshire law requires you to follow four steps:
  • First, maintain a reduced speed. Let your foot off the gas and slow down to well below the speed limit.
  • Second, follow directions and signals. If an officer is directing traffic, or if emergency signals have been set up around an accident, pay attention to them.
  • Third, change lanes as soon as possible. If you don’t think you can merge safely (because of traffic or icy roads, for example), slow down as much as you can.
  • Fourth, give a wide berth to stopped cars with emergency lights.

What is considered an emergency vehicle in New Hampshire?

In New Hampshire, emergency vehicles will have blue, red, or amber emergency lights:
  • Police cars
  • Fire trucks
  • First responder vehicles
  • Tow trucks
  • Recovery vehicles
  • Highway maintenance vehicles
Keep in mind that this law also applies to car accidents, fires, or other natural disasters that are blocking the highway.

Penalties for violating New Hampshire’s move over law

For your first violation of New Hampshire’s move over law, you will be fined $75 plus penalty assessment. According to
New Hampshire’s Department of Safety
, this usually adds up to about $93.
For your second violation within a year (and subsequent violations), you’ll face a fine of $250 plus penalty assessment, which works out to be about $310.
Remember, these are base fines. They don’t include added consequences for multiple violations (like reckless driving or speeding)—so be sure to slow down and shift lanes if you see flashing lights ahead of you!

Can violating the move over law increase your insurance?

Although violating the move over law won’t add points to your driving record, it could cause your insurance rate to spike. Plus, additional violations (such as speeding) can also result in a jump in your insurance payments.
Jerry
, our car insurance comparison app, can help shield your paycheck from increased insurance payments. Jerry will find you the cheapest rates from 50+ top insurers—even if you just got a traffic ticket. 

Why do move over laws exist?

Move over laws create a safe zone around emergency workers so that police officers, firefighters, and paramedics can focus on helping people who have been in an accident.
The story of move over laws started in 1994, with a South Carolina paramedic named James Garcia. Garcia was struck by a distracted driver while he was on the side of the road helping with an emergency. Because there was no law to protect him, Garcia was found at fault for the accident. Since then,
Garcia has fought tirelessly
for the passage of laws that protect emergency workers.
Since Garcia’s injury in 1994, all 50 states have passed move over laws. 
Key Takeaway: According to the Emergency Responder Safety Institute, 44 emergency workers were struck and killed by vehicles in 2019 alone. Slow down and switch lanes to protect our emergency workers and keep your fellow drivers safe.

How to find affordable insurance after a traffic violation

If you’re worried about your rates jumping after a traffic violation,
Jerry
can help.
Jerry, a
licensed broker
and insurance super app, will find you the best rates on the market. Sign up in 45 seconds, then compare rates from the nation’s top insurers, including Progressive, Nationwide, and Allstate. Once you’ve found the best rate and coverage for your needs, Jerry will handle all the paperwork to switch you over. 
Worried you’ll miss out on savings if you don’t put in the time to trawl through all your options single-handed? Don’t be. Jerry users save an average of $887 a year on car insurance!
“I recently started looking for insurance. With my past ticket, I got rejected from several companies while others charged me extreme prices. My friend referred me to
Jerry
and their amazing customer service helped me get the lowest insurance rate.” —Christina H.
icon
Make safe driving pay
Get rewarded for safe driving. Earn points and unlock benefits. Totally free.
Start earning now
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings