Nevada Speeding Ticket

Find out if you're getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
When you are ticketed for speeding in Nevada, you can plead guilty or no contest and pay your fine, or plead not guilty and fight the ticket in court. If you plead guilty, that means you intend to challenge your ticket and will be required to appear in court.
It’s always important to drive within the posted speed limits—and not just because of safety concerns. Speeding tickets often lead to pricey fines and increased insurance costs, but they can also land you in jail or get your license suspended.
When you’ve been ticketed for speeding in Nevada, you’ll need to look up the state’s procedures for properly handling the ticket. Each state has its own way of processing speeding tickets, and knowing what’s required of you is important for keeping the ticket from becoming a bigger problem than it already is.
If you need help better understanding how to handle a Nevada speeding ticket, don’t worry—the car insurance super app Jerry has you covered. This article will break down your options for handling a speeding ticket and help you figure out exactly how much your ticket is going to cost you.
Compare real <State> car insurance rates in just 45 seconds!
Quotes from up to 50+ companies
No long forms
No phone calls

What happens if you get a speeding ticket in Nevada? 

When you’re pulled over for speeding in Nevada, have your driver’s license and vehicle registration ready for the officer. There’s a chance you’ll be let off with just a warning if you’re polite, prepared, and don’t have other speeding tickets on your record. However, it’s just a chance, not a guarantee.
After the officer has gotten your information and written up your ticket, you’ll need to sign it. Don’t worry—signing your ticket is not an admission of guilt. All you’re doing is acknowledging that you have received the ticket and understand that you need to respond to it before the listed due date.

What are the fines for a speeding ticket in Nevada? 

The maximum fine you can receive for speeding in Nevada is $1,000. However, your fines can’t be more than $20 for each mile an hour you were going beyond the posted speed limit.
The exact cost of your fine will depend on several factors, including:
  • Previous speeding tickets
  • If you were speeding through a work or school zone
  • How fast you were going
It’s important to remember that speeding is a misdemeanor in Nevada and can land you in jail for up to six months—along with your fine—if the offense is severe enough.
In addition to fines and possible jail time, speeding tickets will place demerit points on your driving record along with a conviction. Those blemishes on your record will often lead to increased car insurance costs and, with too many, suspension of your license.

Options for dealing with a speeding ticket in Nevada

You have three options for handling a speeding ticket in Nevada:
  • Plead guilty
  • Plead no contest
  • Plead not guilty
If you choose to plead guilty or no contest, you will need to pay your ticket fine before the due date listed on it. 
  • Filing no contest will close your case and a conviction, along with demerit points, will be placed on your driving record
  • Pleading guilty will require you to appear in court to contest the ticket or to request an alternative sentence, such as attending traffic safety school instead of receiving a conviction
If you choose to plead not guilty, you will need to present evidence in court that will prove your innocence. If you cannot convince the judge that you were not speeding, you will be required to pay legal fees in addition to your original fine.
Regardless of how you intend to respond to your ticket, check your ticket or contact the appropriate traffic court for instruction on how to proceed. Also, be sure to handle your ticket as soon as possible. Missing the due date can cause a bench warrant for your arrest to be issued!

How to pay a speeding ticket in Nevada

The simplest way to handle your speeding ticket is to plead no contest and pay the fine. Unfortunately, that means having a conviction and demerit points placed on your record.
How you go about paying your fine will depend entirely on which traffic court is processing it. Be sure to check your ticket or contact the appropriate court for more information.
The payment options available in Nevada are:
  • By mail
  • By phone
  • By MoneyGram
  • In person

How to fight a speeding ticket in Nevada

If you don’t want a conviction and demerit points placed on your driving record, you’ll need to challenge the ticket in court. In Nevada, you can either plead not guilty and try to have the ticket dismissed entirely or plead guilty and attempt to have the conviction substituted or reduced.

Plead not guilty in court

The first step to fighting a traffic ticket in Nevada is entering a plea of not guilty.
Depending on your citation and the traffic court handling your case you can file your plea online, by mail, or in person. Check your ticket or contact the appropriate court to find out more about your filing options.
Once your not guilty plea has been entered and a hearing date set, start collecting evidence and witnesses to support your case. If you cannot convince the judge that you were not speeding, you’ll have to pay your ticket fine and legal fees. The speeding conviction and appropriate demerit points will be added to your driving record.
Sometimes the officer that issued your ticket won’t appear at your hearing. When that happens, your ticket can be dismissed. This isn’t something to count on, though!

Traffic safety school

If you want to remove demerit points from your driving record or keep new ones off as part of a plea bargain, traffic safety schools are a great option. While participating in one of these courses, you’ll learn more about safe driving skills, defensive driving, and the dangers you can expect to encounter on the roadway.
There are many of these schools available online and in-person across Nevada, but there are limitations:
  • You can only take a course voluntarily once within 12 months
  •  Previous demerit points will not be removed from your record if the course is part of a plea bargain

What if you can’t afford to pay your speeding ticket?

If your speeding ticket fine is going to break your budget, your only option is to plead not guilty.
Pleading not guilty will require evidence and witnesses to prove your innocence. You can also request attending a Nevada traffic safety school as part of a plea bargain, but the judge does not have to grant your request.
Be aware that failing to convince the judge that you weren’t speeding or to grant you a plea bargain will land you legal fees on top of your fine.
Ignoring your ticket or not paying the fine is the worst thing you can do. Missing the due date on your ticket will cause the court to issue a bench warrant for your arrest. To make matters worse, the warrant can negatively affect your credit score and lead to the DMV suspending your driver’s license.

Will a speeding ticket increase your insurance? 

A speeding ticket in Nevada can increase your car insurance rates by 20%. You can expect these new costs to remain as long as you have convictions and demerit points on your driving record.
If you want to pay less for car insurance after getting a speeding ticket, try switching insurers. For help finding quick car insurance quotes, download the Jerry app.
Jerry is a car insurance broker super app that compares quotes from 50+ insurance providers to help you find the best deals available. In less than two minutes you can go from paying a lot to saving a lot—so there’s no reason to overpay because of speeding tickets ever again!
“I recently started looking for insurance. With my past ticket, I got rejected from several companies while others charged me extreme prices. My friend referred me to Jerry and their amazing customer service helped me get the lowest insurance rate.” —Christina H.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

FAQs

A single speeding ticket will not normally cost you your license. However, that may change if you have a history of speeding, other traffic violations, or neglect to pay your ticket fines on time.
Fighting a ticket is only a good idea if you can prove your innocence. If you cannot provide evidence and witnesses to back up your claim, you’re better served by paying your ticket.
If you don’t want demerit points on your record, consider attending a Nevada traffic safety school. Completing a course will remove points from your record, and you can take another after 12 months have passed.

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free