Does Georgia Require Front License Plates?

Georgia is one of 19 US states that don’t require front license plates for motor vehicles. But your rear license plate must be secure and visible at all times.
Written by John Davis
Edited by Amy Bobinger
Georgia does not require front license plates. The Georgia Department of Revenue (DOR) only requires drivers to attach a single
Georgia license plate
to the rear of the car. 
  • Georgia is one of 20 states that do not require front license plates. 
  • Georgia requires the rear license plate to be plainly visible and firmly secure at all times.
  • Failure to display your license plate properly can result in fines of up to $1,000 and 12 months in jail. 

Does Georgia require front license plates?

No, Georgia is one of 20 states that do not require a front license plate on automobiles registered in the state. 
As laid out in
Section 40-2-41
of the Georgia Code, drivers in Georgia are only required to display a valid license plate on the rear of their vehicle. 
The law goes on to state that you need to ensure that your rear license plate is firmly fastened in place and visible at all times. In the state of Georgia, you’re not allowed to obstruct the legibility of your license plate with any material unless it’s a cover that’s transparent and without color. 

What is the penalty for not abiding by license plate laws in Georgia?

As with all states, there is a price to pay if you ignore license plate laws in Georgia. And the Peach State does not mess around when it comes to violating license plate laws!
Under Georgia law, any driver who operates a motor vehicle without a rear license plate will be charged with a misdemeanor. Failure to properly exhibit your Georgia license plate on the rear of your vehicle could result in a fine of up to $1,000 and up to 12 months in
jail
—or both. 

Which US states do not require a front license plate?

While
30 US states require both front and rear license plates
—20 states, including Georgia, only require a rear license plate on vehicles. Curious to know which states don’t require a front license plate? Check out the list below for the states with no front license plate requirement. 

Why do other US states require both front and back license plates?

Aesthetics aside, many drivers have complained that front license plates affect their vehicle’s front bumper, aerodynamics, and air circulation to the grille. Two license plates per vehicle also mean twice the cost of license plate production for the state.
On the other hand, front license plates greatly aid police when they’re looking for stolen vehicles. In the unfortunate event that your car gets stolen, an additional license plate on the front of your vehicle enhances your chances that law enforcement will locate your vehicle.
Are you overpaying for your car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees
icon4.717k Ratings
5M+Drivers Joined
7M+Cars Garaged
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings