What Are the Car Seat Laws in Wisconsin?

Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Wisconsin car seat laws require that children under the age of four or weighing less than 40 pounds ride in an approved car seat.
Once children turn 4, they can then switch to an approved booster seat, which they must continue to use until they turn 8, reach 4’9” tall, or weigh at least 80 pounds.
Failing to abide by Wisconsin’s car seat laws can lead to fines, legal trouble, and even increased car insurance prices. The car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry is breaking down everything you need to know about Wisconsin car seat laws to ensure your kids are safe and secure every time you hit the road.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

What is the Wisconsin car seat law?

Passengers under four years old must be secured in a manufacturer-approved child restraint seat. It should be rear facing until the child turns two, and can be front facing after. They must ride in the back seat of the car.
Once children reach four or grow out of harness-restrained seats, they can switch to approved booster seats. Kids must use a booster seat until they turn eight, grow to 4’9” tall, or weigh 80 pounds.
There’s no specific law regarding when children can begin riding in the front seat, though the Wisconsin state government recommends that kids under 13 ride in the back seat.
Key Takeaway Kids under four years old must be safely secured in manufacturer-approved car seats in the back seat of a vehicle.

What are the penalties for breaking the car seat law in Wisconsin?

In Wisconsin, penalties vary based on the age of the child—though fines are usually steep.
  • If the child is less than four years old, the penalty for violating a car seat law is $175.
  • For ages four to 8 eight, the first infraction will cost the driver $150. Second offenses will carry a $200 charge, while a third infraction will lead to a $263 fine.
Children who cannot be secured in a restraint system due to medical reasons are exempt from the Wisconsin car seat law.
Remember: the driver is ultimately responsible for all passengers under the age of 16, so make sure everyone is buckled and secure!

Can breaking the car seat law impact my driving record?

It likely won’t. Although fines are relatively hefty, they’re nothing more than a minor infraction on your record. You won’t tally any points on your license.
That said, all minor infractions will be noted on your driving record—and Wisconsin doesn’t allow you to get them waived. A slew of minor infractions doesn’t look good on your record and can cost you in the long run.
It’s always better to just follow the rules and keep your children safely secured.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

How breaking car seat laws can impact insurance in Wisconsin

Breaking the car seat law in Wisconsin won’t add any points to your license, so your insurance premiums likely won’t increase.
But if you continue to tally infractions, insurers will be wary and might hike your payments a little. Remember, the more infractions you have, the bigger risk you are.
Also, be warned that not paying your fines will have an impact on your credit score. In states that allow insurance companies to consider credit ratings, this can be a warning sign for them.
Key Takeaway While one violation likely won’t hurt your premiums, repeated citations could see your insurance prices increase.

Finding cheap car insurance

Regardless of how clean your driving record is, it’s paramount to have the right car insurance. To find the best option, try Jerry.
Jerry is your ultra-talented car insurance broker for life. No need to sit across from him at a desk—Jerry is an app! It takes less than a minute to sign up and you’ll be presented with competitive rates from up to 50 top providers. Don’t lose coverage, find savings with Jerry!
“Works as promised! It took me 10 minutes to save $50/month on my car insurance with this app. They gave me several options and took care of all the paperwork. Incredible! Thank you so much!” —Satisfied Jerry user
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
avatar
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
avatar
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
avatar
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free