Seat Belt Laws in Wisconsin
Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Seat belt laws in Wisconsin say that the driver and all passengers over the age of four must wear a seat belt. Kids should use age-appropriate child restraint systems. You can be pulled over and ticketed for breaking this law. Drivers are responsible for—and can be ticketed for violations by—passengers younger than 16.
Studies show that people are far more likely to be injured or die in a car crash if they are not wearing a seat belt. Keep safe and buckle up!
The car insurance comparison shopping app Jerry has compiled everything you need to know about Wisconsin seat belt laws so you can avoid fines and stay safe behind the wheel.
What are the seat belt laws in Wisconsin?
The Wisconsin seat belt law says that drivers and all passengers older than four years old must wear a seat belt. Children should use federally-approved restraint systems. In Wisconsin, drivers are held responsible for passengers under the age of 16.
Key Takeaway Everyone over the age of four is legally required to wear a seat belt in Wisconsin, and younger children must use appropriate child restraint systems. Drivers must ensure that people under 16 follow the law.
What happens if you break the seat belt laws in Wisconsin?
The penalty for breaking the seat belt laws in Wisconsin is a $10 fine. The driver must pay the fine if the person who broke the seat belt law was under the age of 16. Drivers and passengers 16 and older will be ticketed for their own offenses.
It’s considered a nonmoving violation to break the seat belt law in Wisconsin. This means you won’t get any points added to your record. However, it is a primary offense. This means that the driver can be pulled over and ticketed if an officer spots a violation.
Key Takeaway You could face a $10 fine if you or a passenger under 16 in your vehicle break the seat belt law.
Could it impact my driving record?
Possibly. Wisconsin won’t add any points to your record for breaking the seat belt law. So, insurance companies are unlikely to bump up your premium based on breaking the seat belt law once.
However, violations do get added to your driver abstract. If you break this law more than once, it will definitely cause your insurance company to take a second look. They could bump up your rate if they think you look like a risky driver.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
Could it impact my insurance?
It’s unlikely as Wisconsin law does not add points to your record for breaking a seat belt law.
However, insurance companies pay close attention to multiple violations, which could be a clue that you are turning into a risky driver. On the other hand, not paying your fines could lead to a problem with your credit, which could also be cause for concern. Either situation could increase your premium. So be sure to pay your fees promptly!
Finding cheap car insurance in Wisconsin
An intelligent AI-based tool like Jerry is the easiest and most effective way to find a car insurance policy that is customized for you.
After providing you with a comprehensive cross-analysis of the best policies across providers, Jerry will handle the phone calls, paperwork, and renewals for your top pick so that you don’t have to. So why do all that extra work when Jerry can do it better?
“Totally stress-free, and Jerry’s rates were good, too.” - Jerry User
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually