Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
- What is a title transfer?
- Car title transfer in Arkansas
- Registering a car in Arkansas
- Finding insurance for your vehicle
Load full table of contents
If you’re transferring ownership of a vehicle in Arkansas, you’ll need to complete a title transfer. You can do this at your local DMV or through the online portal for a fee of just $10.
Buying or selling a vehicle is more than just handing over the keys. To make the sale official, you must transfer the title to the new owner. This usually involves some basic paperwork, a visit to the DMV or OMV (Office of Motor Vehicles), and a small fee.
It can be a complicated process—and you need to get it right to be compliant with the state OMV and the law. Here, the car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry is breaking down everything you need to know about title transfer in Arkansas.
What is a title transfer?
A car title is what dictates ownership of the vehicle. So when you transfer the title of a car, you’re transferring its ownership.
Transferring a title consists of two steps—one for the seller and one for the buyer:
- The seller must release ownership of the car by signing the title
- The buyer must take the signed title to the OMV, where the state will issue a new title and registration
Every state has a slightly different process. Some states require additional paperwork to complete the title transfer process, such as a bill of sale or transfer of ownership form. You may also need to provide basic vehicle information like the sales price and current odometer reading.
Who does the title transfer?
The responsibility for the title transfer depends on whether you’re buying (or selling) a vehicle privately or from a dealership.
If it’s a private purchase, it’s up to the buyer and seller to complete the title transfer process. When you buy a car from a dealer, they handle all the paperwork and send the vehicle title from the state OMV by mail.
Reasons for a title transfer
There are a variety of reasons why you might need to complete a title transfer for a vehicle. The most common include a change of residency or buying or selling a car.
Here are some other reasons for a title change:
- Donating a vehicle
- Gifting a vehicle
- Inheriting a vehicle
- Paying off a vehicle loan
Car title transfer in Arkansas
In Arkansas, the vehicle buyer can complete a title transfer online or in-person at a local OMV branch. It must be done within 30 days of the change of ownership or you will be charged a penalty fee.
Here’s what you need to do:
- Get the vehicle title from the seller and sign and date it as the “buyer”
- Be sure that the seller has also signed, dated, and filled in the odometer sections (if required) and bill of sale area on the title
- Get any lien documents from the seller, like:
- Completed Official Release of Lien or Permission to Issue a Replacement Title (Form 10-315)
- Signed lien contract
- Completed Bill of Sale/Odometer Disclosure Statement (Form 10-313) if the vehicle title is from out of state or the control number is less than 3003001
- Complete Form 10-381, the Vehicle Registration Application Form (this serves as the title application in Arkansas)
- Payment for the transfer titles’ fees
You may also need personal and vehicular information like your DL number, license plate number, VIN, and make and model
From there, follow the instructions from MyDMV Arkansas. The title transfer fee is $10.
Once you’ve submitted all required documentation, the OMV will issue a new title within a minimum of three weeks.
Key Takeaway The MyDMV Arkansas portal will walk you through the title transfer process from start to finish—and there’s no lineup!
Registering a car in Arkansas
After a title transfer, you’ll need to register the vehicle. Registration is proof that you can legally drive on the streets and is done annually. Before you can register, you must have an Arkansas title and proof of auto insurance that meets the state minimum coverage requirements.
In Arkansas, the cost to register your vehicle depends on its weight. For instance, it’s only $17 per year for cars 3,000 lbs or less, but $30 for cars over 4,500 lbs. In addition, you’ll need to pay the following:
|Validation decal||$2.50||Required for all automobiles every two or three years|
|Postage (if registering by mail)||$0.39|
Other fees may apply based on the type of vehicle, license plate type, county of residence, or driving record.
Finding insurance for your vehicle
Title transfer or not, before you can get behind the wheel of your new (or new-to-you) vehicle you’ll need car insurance.
Jerry is the super app that helps you save time and money on your car expenses, including insurance. It’s a free, fast download that will generate custom quotes from dozens of top insurance companies.
Once you pick a policy at a price you like, Jerry handles all the paperwork, phone calls, and even monitors your rate to ensure you’re always renewing at the best price.
The average Jerry user saves $879 per year on their insurance!
“Jerry was a great experience. It was my first time buying insurance, and they took their time explaining a lot of insurance terms for me. Shopping around for quotes was super easy!” —Dakota F.
What if my car has a loan?
A title transfer is more challenging if the vehicle is still financed. You’ll need to call your lender and ask how to sell a car that has a loan and how the transaction should be handled.
Where do I sign to transfer the title?
The title will have a line that says “seller’s signature.” If two people are on the title, then both will need to sign on the same line. There is a separate line for the buyer’s signature.