Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
- What is a driving record?
- How do I access my driving record in Missouri?
- Where else can I find my driving record in Missouri?
- What is on my record?
- How can my driving record affect me?
- What is the difference between driving records in each state?
Load full table of contents
You can request a Missouri driving record from a Missouri license office in person, by mail, or online. If you’re using someone’s personal information, your application must be notarized unless you are applying for your record in person.
A driving record allows you to see the full details of your driving history, including information about past traffic violations and accidents. Every state allows you to access driving records for yourself and others, but the procedure varies from state to state.
Here to walk you through the process of requesting a driving record in Missouri is the car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry. We’ll cover what your Missouri driving record includes, how to get it, and how it could affect you in the future.
What is a driving record?
A driving record contains details about your driving history, especially information about traffic violations and accidents. Together, the facts on your driving record give a picture of your safety and responsibility on the road.
How do I access my driving record in Missouri?
You can request a copy of your Missouri driving record with or without personal information (such as name, address, driver’s license number, and social security number).
To request a driving record with non-personal information only, you may:
- Go to the nearest Missouri license office and pay the correct fee; or
- Request a record online through the MyDMV website.
To request a driving record that includes personal information, you may:
- Submit a valid photo ID at the nearest Missouri license office and pay the correct fee.
- Complete a Request from Driver License Record Holder (Form 4681) and obtain a notary’s signature, then send the completed form along with your fee to the Driver License Record Center.
Send your request by mail to:
Driver License Record Center301 West High Street – Room 470PO Box 2167Jefferson City, MO 65101
Send your request by email to: firstname.lastname@example.org.
For all driving record requests, a base fee of $2.82 applies. If you are requesting a record in person at a Missouri license office, you’ll need to pay an additional $2 office processing fee.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
Requesting a driving record for someone else
If you need to request a driving record for someone else, you can follow the same steps.
No additional information is required for a record with non-personal information, but you will need to obtain the record holder’s signature in addition to the notary’s signature to request a record with personal information for another person.
Where else can I find my driving record in Missouri?
Car insurance agents
Car insurance companies are authorized under the federal Driver Privacy Protection Act (DPPA) to obtain driving records including personal information.
If you don’t want to go through the Driver License Record Center, you can usually obtain a copy of your driving record from your insurance carrier.
Online third-party agents
Plenty of online companies offer driving record retrievals, and this could be a good way to get access to your record.
However, be cautious—records requested through a third party are not always accurate, so be sure to check with the company in advance to confirm that you’ll be getting an official record.
What is on my record?
Missouri allows you to access two different versions of your driving record: with and without personal information.
Your driving record without personal information contains:
- Traffic violations
- Non-personal driving history
Your driving record with personal information contains:
- Traffic violations
- Driving history
- Date of birth
- Physical description (height, weight, and eye color)
- Missouri driver’s license number
- Social Security number
- Phone number
- Medical or disability information
DMV points in Missouri
Missouri calculates points on your record based on your traffic violations. Hitting a certain number of points within a specified timeframe will result in consequences ranging from an advisory letter to license suspension or even revocation.
Most minor tickets carry a low number of points: for instance, you could get two points for following too close, excessive vehicle noise, or texting while driving.
Failure to produce proof of insurance carries four points, while serious violations like a DUI or leaving the scene of an accident will add 12 points to your record. The Missouri Department of Revenue (DOR) maintains a full list of violations and points here.
If you accumulate four points in 12 months, you’ll get an advisory letter from the DOR. If you add eight points or more to your record within 18 months, your license will be suspended:
- For 30 days if it is your first suspension
- For 60 days if it is your second suspension
- For 90 days if it is your third suspension
Your license can be revoked for one year if you accumulate:
- 12 points or more with 12 months
- 18 points or more within 24 months
- 24 points or more within 36 months
After your license is reinstated, your point total will revert to four points.
Most points will stay on your Missouri driving record for three years. However, if your license was suspended or revoked as a result of a violation, the points will stay on your record for five years. Some violations, though, will stay on your record permanently.
If you go a year without accumulating additional points, 1/3 of your total points will be removed. After two years with no new points, 1/2 of your total points will be removed, and your record will be reduced to 0 points if you can maintain three years with no new points.
MORE: Missouri car seat law
Thousands of customers saved on average $887/year on their car insurance with Jerry
This app is great, but the customer service is even better! Not to mention convenient! My husband and I got the lowest rate (much lower than the rates I was finding online through my own searches), quickly, and pretty much all through text message! Thank you so much for a hassle free experience👍
How can my driving record affect me?
Your driving record is an important part of your driving history, and it can affect much more than your perceived performance on the road. Everything from your insurance costs to job prospects can change in response to a good driving record—or a bad one.
Your insurance premium
The federal Driver Privacy Protection Act allows insurance companies to check customers’ driving records and use them to calculate insurance premiums.
If your record carries a lot of points, your insurance premium is likely to go up. Maintaining a clean driving record, on the other hand, could net you discounts on your policy.
Your ability to drive
Racking up too many points on your driving record in a short period could result in your Missouri driver’s license being either suspended or revoked.
Consider seriously the impact a suspended license could have on your day-to-day needs—and work on bringing down your points if you’re near the limit. Taking a defensive driving course could help you knock some points off of your record.
Your credit rating
This one’s tricky—just having points on your record won’t affect your credit score.
Failing to pay tickets on time, however, can negatively impact your credit, especially if those tickets are transferred to a collections agency. Pay for any tickets on time to avoid damaging your credit.
Your job prospects
Employers are often permitted to check driving records, too. If your job doesn’t involve driving, this might not be a big issue, but if you’re applying for jobs that require you to drive, you’ll want to be able to show a clean record.
If your driving record has a lot of points, employers will likely pass over you for an applicant whose record is squeaky clean.
What is the difference between driving records in each state?
Your driving record is tied to the state where your car is registered. But this doesn’t mean you’re off the hook for violations you commit in another state.
Even if you commit a traffic violation in another state, the points from that violation will show up on your Missouri driving record.
Every state handles driving records a little differently, but almost all states participate in the Driver License Compact (DLC), an agreement through which states exchange information about drivers, accidents, and violations.
Which states don’t share driving records?
The only five states that do not participate in the DLC are:
These states still share information about violations and accidents through other channels, so always assume that a violation in another state will end up on your Missouri driving record.
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually