To get your Missouri Class F driver’s license, you must be at least 16 years old and be able to provide four (4) categories of valid identification. You’ll also need to complete a driver’s education course, a vision test, a knowledge exam, and your final road test.
Avoid the DMV horror stories by being equipped with all the information you need to complete the driver’s license application process. The
car insurance comparison super app
Jerry is here to simplify the steps for obtaining a Missouri driver’s license—plus, show you how to save on your
Missouri car insurance costs!
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
What are the requirements for a driver’s license in Missouri?
First and foremost, you have to be at least 16 years old to apply for a driver’s license in Missouri. Before visiting the
Missouri Department of Revenue website or a
physical office to start your driver’s license application, you're going to want to collect some documents.
Missouri requires you to validate four forms of identification. Some documents apply to multiple categories of identification. Here are the categories:
Identity: passport, birth certificate
Lawful status: passport, birth certificate
Social Security Number: SSN card, W-2 form, pay stub with SSN and name
Proof of Missouri Residency: utility bills, voter registration card, bank statement
These are just the primary examples of what you can bring with you, but here is the
full list of acceptable documents. In addition, you are required to pay an application fee between $11 and $27 depending on whether or not you’re a new driver or new to the area.
Now that you’ve collected all the appropriate documents, let’s take a look at the additional requirements for young drivers and out-of-state applicants.
What are the requirements for young drivers?
In addition to the aforementioned documents, young Missouri applicants must complete a driver’s education program.
You may obtain a learner's permit as soon as you turn 15 under parental consent—but only after passing the vision test and preliminary
road sign recognition test. During your learning stage, you will be required to log 40 hours of supervised driving—10 of which need to be nighttime driving.
This permit is valid for up to 12 months, but you need to have it for a minimum of 182 days. Once you’ve completed all of the supervised driving requirements, you’re ready to take your tests (more on that later) and get your
Intermediate driver’s license.
What are the requirements for out-of-state drivers?
Moving to Missouri and looking to update your driver’s license? We got you covered. All you have to do is apply with the previously mentioned four categories of acceptable IDs. No other tests are required.
How to get a driver’s license in Missouri
For new drivers: take the TLSAE course
It also serves as a basic introduction to Missouri traffic laws.
Missouri requires all of its drivers to take a vision test before hitting the road.
Here are the standard requirements to pass:
20/40 vision in either one or both eyes
Peripheral reading at least 55 degrees in each eye or 85 degrees in one eye
If you need corrective lenses to pass, that’s completely fine—you’ll just need to wear them whenever you drive.
To receive a Missouri Class F driver’s license, you must pass a computerized multiple-choice knowledge exam that tests your understanding of the rules of the road.
Answering 20/25 correctly will be acknowledged as a passing score. The best way to prepare is to review some
practice material. Once you’re feeling confident in your knowledge, schedule your appointment
After passing your vision and knowledge tests, you’ll be issued a Form 100 to show confirmation of completion, and you’ll be another step closer to freeway freedom.
The road test is the final step before you move from a learner’s permit to an intermediate license. This behind-the-wheel exam will put your driving capabilities and understanding of the road systems to the test. A passing score is 70% in Missouri.
Find a location to take your road test with the
Missouri State Highway Patrol. No appointments are required, so you could walk right in—and walk out a licensed driver!
How to save money on car insurance in Missouri
Congrats on your new license! Now it’s time to hit the Missouri highways—safely of course. Safe driving is a key component in determining your car insurance rate, and finding affordable payments can be easy (and painless) with the
car insurance super app
It’s this simple: download the Jerry app or go to getjerry.com. Give Jerry just 45 seconds of your time, and you’ll be presented with competitive quotes from dozens of top insurance companies. Once you choose a quote, Jerry will handle the hassles of getting you situated with your policy.
The best part? The average Jerry user saves $887 per year on car insurance.
“I usually don’t leave reviews, but this app was amazing! I’m young and wanted a nice car, so I thought insurance companies would charge me extra. But
Jerry chopped my usual payments in half! Thanks, Jerry.” —Gabby E.