How to Switch Car Insurance Companies When You Move to a New State

How to Switch Car Insurance Companies When You Move to a New State
When moving from state to state, car owners need to switch car insurance to comply with the regulations in the state they plan on moving to. Due to the difference in minimum coverage requirements, population levels, and crime in an area, car insurance premiums vary by state. And while in an ideal world you could keep your old coverage when you move, state laws require that you switch to a particular state’s insurance policy upon taking up residence there.
The following information details what you need to do to update your car insurance when moving to a different state.

How long do you have to switch car insurance upon moving?

Depending upon the laws within each U.S. state, you have between 10 to 30 days to register your car within the new state. To successfully register a car in many states you also need to have an insurance policy within that state first. So, you need to switch insurance companies by either transferring your account from company offices in your old state to an office within the new state or purchasing insurance from a new company altogether.
Failure to provide proof of coverage can result in the suspension of your car registration, so make sure to get the proper insurance within the time limit provided by state regulations. When securing insurance in a new state, you basically have two options, as detailed below:
  • Finding coverage with the same car insurance company: You can find coverage with your original insurance company from your former state. This might represent the easiest way to keep continuous coverage on your car. An agent at an office in your area simply switches you over to your new area, which might cause your premium to go up or down depending on factors such as area population, traffic level, where you park your car, or the chance of theft or vandalism.
  • Finding coverage with a different car insurance company: Switching car insurance companies represents another option. Moving to a new state also provides the perfect opportunity for you to compare rates between insurance companies and switch to a new insurance provider, which could save you money.
Whether you transfer your policy to your current provider in your new state or switch to a new insurance company altogether, make sure that you have the minimum coverage requirements according to your new state laws. And, whatever you do, do not cancel your old insurance before obtaining or transferring to a policy at your new car insurance company.
The following table shows state requirements for liability coverage:
Liability Coverage Requirements by State
State Body Injury Liability per Person / Bodily Injury Liability per Accident / Property Damage Coverage Requirements
Alabama $25,000 / 50,000 / 25,000
Alaska $50,000 / 100,000 / 25,000
Arizona $15,000 / 30,000 / 10,000
Arkansas $25,000 / 50,000 / 25,000
California $15,000 / 30,000 / 5,000
Colorado $25,000 / 40,000 / 10,000
Connecticut $20,000 / 40,000 / 10,000
Delaware $15,000 / 30,000 / 10,000
District of Columbia $25,000 / 50,000 / 10,000
Florida $10,000 / 20,000 / 10,000
Georgia $25,000 / 50,000 / 25,000
Hawaii $20,000 / 40,000 / 10,000
Idaho $25,000 / 50,000 / 15,000
Illinois $20,000 / 40,000 / 15,000
Indiana $25,000 / 50,000 / 10,000
Iowa $20,000 / 40,000 / 15,000
Kansas $25,000 / 50,000 / 10,000
Kentucky $25,000 / 50,000 / 10,000
Louisiana $15,000 / 30,000 / 25,000
Maine $15,000 / 30,000 / 10,000
Maryland $30,000 / 60,000 / 15,000
Massachusetts $30,000 / 60,000 / 15,000
Michigan $20,000 / 40,000 / 10,000
Minnesota $20,000 / 40,000 / 10,000
Mississippi $25,000 / 50,000 / 25,000
Missouri $25,000 / 50,000 / 10,000
Montana $25,000 / 50,000 / 10,000
Nebraska $25,000 / 50,000 / 25,000
Nevada $15,000 / 30,000 / 5,000
New Hampshire $25,000 / 50,000 / 25,000
New Jersey $15,000 / 30,000 / 5,000
New Mexico $25,000 / 50,000 / 10,000
New York $25,000 / 50,000 / 10,000
North Carolina $30,000 / 60,000 / 25,000
North Dakota $25,000 / 50,000 / 25,000
Ohio $12,500 / 25,000 / 7,500
Oklahoma $25,000 / 50,000 / 25,000
Oregon $25,000 / 50,000 / 20,000
Pennsylvania $15,000 / 30,000 / 5,000
Rhode Island $25,000 / 50,000 / 25,000
South Carolina $25,000 / 50,000 / 25,000
South Dakota $25,000 / 50,000 / 25,000
Tennessee $25,000 / 50,000 / 15,000
Texas $30,000 / 60,000 / 25,000
Utah $25,000 / 65,000 / 15,000
Vermont $25,000 / 50,000 / 10,000
Virginia $25,000 / 50,000 / 20,000
Washington $25,000 / 50,000 / 10,000
West Virginia $25,000 / 50,000 / 25,000
Wisconsin $25,000 / 50,000 / 10,000
Wyoming $25,000 / 50,000 / 20,000
Source: [ValuePenguin](https://www.valuepenguin.com/minimum-car-insurance-required-your-state)
When moving to a new state, keep in mind what type of coverage you need and how much you must carry according to the new state’s laws.