What happens if you drive without car insurance in Wisconsin?
My boyfriend doesn't have car insurance on his vehicle, and I'm worried about what happens if we get into an accident. Is it bad to drive without car insurance in the state?
“Car insurance can protect your vehicle against a variety of damages, including liability during accidents and severe weather. What’s more, minimum liability insurance is legally required in the state, and if you’re caught without it, you could face a fine of up to $500.
On average, drivers in Wisconsin pay 30% less for car insurance than drivers in other states, but if money is a concern to your boyfriend, you can suggest that he use a smart comparison tool like Jerry to find the best policy to fit his needs for the lowest cost.”
Did this answer help you?
Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
Have a different question?
You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.
Read advice from car experts at Jerry
Browse by topics
What others are asking
Do lenders have a minimum amount for car financing?
I bought a car with cash and trade. My final amount owed was $4,800 and my monthly payments were under $100. I signed all the paperwork and drove away. A few days later, the finance manager from the dealership called and said that $6,000 is the minimum amount that the lender will finance. She wants me to come back in, write a new down payment check, and sign the new paperwork. Does this sound right? Or am I being bamboozled?
Jul 29, 2021
What are the fees for driving without car insurance in West Virginia?
I'm trying to understand if I can save money by not paying my premiums through GEICO. What are the fees if I get caught driving without insurance in the state?
Aug 04, 2021
Can you drive without car insurance in Washington?
I don't want to pay for another insurance policy for my wife's new car. If you choose to do so, can you drive without car insurance in the state?
Aug 04, 2021