What are the risks of driving in West Virginia on a suspended license?

I'm 20 but had my license suspended for something called underage DUI. What happens if I keep driving and get caught?

Answer
“Violating the minor DUI laws in West Virginia can result in a misdemeanor conviction, which includes 24 hours in jail and a $50 to $500 fine.
The penalties increase with further violations. A second offense carries the potential of 30 days to six months in jail and a $100 to $500 fine. If you’re convicted of a third or subsequent offense, you could face a felony conviction, one to three years in prison, and a $1,000 to $5,000 fine.
Your car insurance rates have likely already been affected by your DUI, but you could see them further increase with each violation. Your policy could even be canceled if you’re deemed too risky to insure.”
avatar
Sophie Newman
Answered on Jul 28, 2021
Sophie Newman is a writer from California. Her hobbies include brewing her own kombucha, riding horses, and taking long road trips.
thumb-up

Did this answer help you?

Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
thumb-up

Have a different question?

You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.