What are the consequences for driving without a license in the car in Pennsylvania?

Sometimes I accidentally leave my license at home. Will this be a problem if I get pulled over?

Answer
“Fortunately, forgetting your license at home will not produce the same penalties as not having a license at all.
In Pennsylvania, if you fail to produce a license at a police officer’s request, you have 15 days to appear at police headquarters with the license to avoid citations.
If you don’t have a valid license at all, you can pay a fine up to $200.
When running through a list of items you need in your car, make sure you also carry proof of car insurance or you could risk a citation.”
avatar
Sophie Newman
Answered on Jul 28, 2021
Sophie Newman is a writer from California. Her hobbies include brewing her own kombucha, riding horses, and taking long road trips.
thumb-up

Did this answer help you?

Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
thumb-up

Have a different question?

You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.

Read advice from car experts at Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free