Is it illegal to drive without insurance in California?

I just moved to the state and the cost of living is so high. If I don't purchase a new policy here, will I face legal consequences?

Answer
“While car insurance is required in the state of California, you do have the option to self-insure, which requires a certificate from the Department of Motor Vehicles and evidence of a $35,000 cash deposit.
Drivers that are caught without valid insurance or a self-insurance certificate will be fined anywhere from $100 to $200 for a first offense and more with each subsequent offense. If you get into an accident, you could have your license suspended and be forced to purchase SR-22 car insurance.
If price is an obstacle for obtaining car insurance, Jerry can help. Jerry pulls quotes from the top 50 companies and delivers the best deals to your phone in minutes.”
avatar
Sophie Newman
Answered on Aug 03, 2021
Sophie Newman is a writer from California. Her hobbies include brewing her own kombucha, riding horses, and taking long road trips.
thumb-up

Did this answer help you?

Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
thumb-up

Have a different question?

You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.

Read advice from car experts at Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free