A Shocking Number of Utah Drivers Go Without Car Insurance
Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Car insurance is mandatory in Utah, as it is almost everywhere in the U.S. Despite this, a shocking number of drivers go without it. A local personal injury attorney estimates as many as one-third of Utah’s drivers are uninsured.
They are not only putting themselves at risk, but anyone who doesn’t have uninsured motorist coverage. Read on to learn more about Utah car insurance, and how to find the best coverage in the Beehive State.
Utah is home to some of the most beautiful scenery in the U.S.
What is the mandatory minimum amount of car insurance in Utah?
Utah is a no-fault state, meaning if you get into an accident with another driver, you need to make a claim with your own insurance company, regardless of who is found to be at fault.
You also need a certain amount of personal injury protection (PIP) insurance.
In Utah, drivers must have $25,000 bodily injury liability per person, $65,000 bodily injury liability per accident, and $15,000 property damage liability per accident.
Minimum coverage isn’t enough
In speaking to Fox 13 Salt Lake City, Personal Injury Attorney Craig Swapp explains as many as one-third of Utah’s drivers have no insurance at all.
Uninsured drivers pose a huge risk for law-abiding citizens. If you get into an accident with a driver who is uninsured, even if you are completely blameless, there is no at-fault insurance company to pay for your recovery and repairs.
At this point, you’ll wish you had uninsured motorist (UM) coverage. It protects you in the event of an accident caused by an uninsured motorist, but it’s not mandatory, so many people go without.
A large portion of Utah’s drivers opt for the minimum coverage in an effort to save money. In reality, it is often not enough to cover the cost of an accident, and drivers end up worse off in the long run.
Medical bills alone can cost tens of thousands of dollars, and additional costs have to be paid for out of pocket.
Great car insurance in Utah coverage costs less than you think
Craig Swapp recommends getting at least $100,000 per person, and $300,000 per accident in body injury liability. He also advises uninsured motorist (UM), underinsured motorist (UIM), or gap coverage.
This might sound expensive, but it doesn’t have to be. Compare quotes with Jerry, and find the best coverage for the lowest rate.
In less than 45 seconds, Jerry collects all of your information from your existing insurer. Choose from competitive quotes from up to 50 top insurance companies and Jerry takes care of the rest—securing your new policy and canceling your old one. No long forms. No calling around. No hard work. Just savings. The average Jerry user saves $879 a year on car insurance.