Alaska Speeding Ticket

Find out if you're getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
If you’re issued an Alaska speeding ticket, you’ll be faced with expensive fines and points added to your license. But there are also ways you can challenge a speeding ticket and avoid these stiff penalties, too.
Alaska has what’s known as an absolute speed limit law. That means you’re breaking the law if you drive one mile per hour or more over the posted speed limit, allowing police to pull you over and issue a ticket. So if you’re let off with just a warning, count your blessings and slow down!
If you do get a speeding ticket in Alaska, you’ll pay up to $300 in fines, get points added to your license, and your car insurance rates can go up as well.
This guide, brought to you by the car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry, will explain how to take care of an Alaska speeding ticket, how to fight it (if you can), and how it will impact your insurance rates over time.
Compare real <State> car insurance rates in just 45 seconds!
Quotes from up to 50+ companies
No long forms
No phone calls

What happens if you get a speeding ticket in Alaska? 

Alaska’s absolute speed limit means law enforcement can pull you over for driving just one mile per hour over the posted speed limit. If that happens, the officer can choose to let you off with a warning or issue a speeding ticket.
Alaska also has a basic speed limit, allowing officers to pull you over and give you a ticket for driving at a speed they felt was unsafe given road conditions, like traffic or weather.
An Alaska speeding ticket will tell you how you can take care of it, which court you need to appear at or pay fines at, and more. You’ll want to take your time and read your traffic ticket carefully so you know how to proceed.
Some speeding tickets will have an optional court appearance, meaning you can plead no contest and pay your fines. You’ll have points added to your license as a result. 
Other speeding tickets will have a mandatory court appearance, meaning you must appear in court at the physical address listed on the ticket, at the time stated on the ticket. You can alternatively request a trial date, but failure to appear or request that trial date can result in a default judgment against you, or even an automatic arrest warrant if it’s a criminal offense.

What are the fines for a speeding ticket in Alaska? 

An Alaska speeding ticket will be coupled with a fine, usually between $100 and $300. However, these fines are doubled if you are caught speeding in highway work zones or traffic safety corridors.
You’ll also be issued demerit points, which can add up to a suspension or revocation of your driver’s license. Here’s a rundown of how these points are gained:
  • Driving 3 mph to 9 mph over the speed limit = 2 points
  • 10 mph to 19 mph over = 4 points
  • 20+ mph over = 6 points
  • Speeding in a school zone or playground crosswalk = 6 points
If you get 12 points in a 12-month period or 18 points in a 24-month period, your driver’s license will be suspended or revoked automatically.

Options for dealing with a speeding ticket in Alaska

Depending on what type of ticket you’re issued, you’ll have a few different methods of dealing with your Alaska speeding ticket. The most common solutions involve either pleading no contest and paying the fines or pleading not guilty and fighting the ticket in court.
Some drivers will also be eligible for dismissing their speeding ticket (or at least removing points from their driving records) by completing a defensive driving course in Alaska. However, this option can and likely will get waived if you fight the ticket.

How to pay a speeding ticket in Alaska

The easiest way to handle an Alaska speeding ticket is to plead no contest and pay the fines. Once you pay the ticket, your driving record will have the appropriate amount of points added.
If your ticket notes an optional court appearance, you can avoid an appearance by paying the fine. If your ticket notes a mandatory court appearance, you’ll have to go to court regardless.
The easiest way to pay your ticket is online through Alaska’s Courtview website. This website processes Visa and Mastercard, but does not accept Discover or American Express. You’ll also end up paying a three percent convenience fee.
Alternatively, you can pay by mail with a check or a money order (don’t send cash), sent to the court where the case was filed. Take a look at Alaska’s court directory for more details. Make the check or money order payable to “State of Alaska” and add your ticket number as well.
You’re also allowed to pay your fines in person at any court location (even if it’s not the court where the case was filed). Cash, checks, and money orders are accepted at all locations and many locations also accept credit card payments in person.

How to fight a speeding ticket in Alaska

Fighting an Alaska speeding ticket can get complicated because it falls on you to provide evidence that you weren’t actually speeding. But if you feel this is an argument you can successfully make, you may want to consider hiring a traffic ticket attorney who can help you navigate this tricky process.
You’ll begin by pleading not guilty to your speeding ticket and requesting a trial, which you can submit by mail or in person at the court where the case is filed. The court will then notify you of the date, time, and location of the trial.
A traffic ticket attorney can be pricey, but greatly enhances your odds of successfully fighting a speeding ticket. Your attorney will represent you in court and make your case and can help reduce or drop charges, fines, and points going on your driving record.

Taking a defensive driving course

Unless you waive this right by fighting your traffic ticket, some drivers may be eligible for taking a defensive driving course. This option might reduce or remove points from your license or even result in your Alaska speeding ticket getting dismissed.
In some instances, the court will refer you to take a defensive driving course. These referrals are more common for other types of traffic violations, but they do sometimes happen for speeding tickets as well.
Completing a defensive driving course can remove two points from your license, making it a good choice for first-time offenders with tickets for driving three mph to nine mph over the limit. You can have points reduced once every 12 months.
Defensive driving courses are good to take even if you haven’t received a speeding ticket. Not only do they make you a safer driver, but completing a defensive driving course will reduce your insurance premiums considerably.
Be sure to pay your fines in full before taking the defensive driving course. If you don’t, the defensive driving course may not reduce the points on your driving record. You can call (907) 269-3770 to verify that the ticket is recorded on your driving record.

What if you don’t pay or fight your Alaska speeding ticket?

You’re expected to respond to your traffic ticket within 30 days. If you don’t, you’ll be sent a warning that gives you another 15 days to respond. If you haven’t responded after 45 days, the court enters a default judgment against you.
Default judgments will result in the maximum fine permitted by law, plus $70 in court and collection fees. If the fine is $30 or more (as it usually is), you’ll end up with a statute surcharge. You’ll also have points added to your license.
If your ticket notes a mandatory court appearance for a criminal offense, missing your court appearance will result in an arrest warrant being issued. Call the court where the case was filed for more information if you’re worried you might miss a court appearance.

What if I’m not from Alaska but get a speeding ticket while visiting?

Some drivers think they can skip or ignore out-of-state speeding tickets, but they’re wrong. If you get a traffic ticket in Alaska, the state treats you like a resident of Alaska, and your home state will punish you accordingly.
Getting an Alaska speeding ticket while visiting the state will result in points being added to your license in your home state. And if your ticket has a mandatory court appearance, you’re still expected to travel back to Alaska and appear in court.
Your driver’s license can even be suspended or revoked for traffic violations in other states and countries. It’s always a wise decision to drive safely and obey traffic laws, but you should always be extra careful to do this while traveling!

Will a speeding ticket increase your insurance? 

Speeding tickets and other traffic violations will almost always add up to higher car insurance premiums. Your rates can increase by 17 percent or more as a result of an Alaska speeding ticket.
Insurance companies look at several factors when determining your rates, and your driving record is a major one. The more points you accumulate on your record, the more you can expect to pay for car insurance. The Jerry app makes it easier than ever to switch car insurance and save. Jerry shows you up to 50 quotes from top insurance companies, so you know you’re getting the best quotes available to you
Jerry also helps you switch without making any phone calls, filling out paperwork, or even canceling your old policy. Give it a try and join Jerry users in saving an average of $879 per year on car insurance!
“I have a really bad record, so all of my previous insurance quotes were pretty high. I started using Jerry and the fantastic app saved me $130 a month on my insurance.” —Jett A.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

FAQs

Some states will suspend or even revoke your driver’s license if you fail to pay your traffic fines and also fail to appear in court. But in Alaska, failure to respond to a speeding ticket will result in a default judgment against you, with maximum penalties. If it’s a criminal citation, an arrest warrant can be issued.
You can lose your license to suspension or revocation if you accumulate too many points on your driving record. Getting 12 or more points in a 12-month period, or 18 points in a 24-month period, will cost you your driver’s license temporarily or permanently.
It all boils down to how easily you can prove you weren’t speeding. If you have convincing evidence you were not speeding, you might be able to successfully challenge your Alaska speeding ticket. But definitely consult with an Alaskan traffic ticket attorney to weigh your options and see if you have a case worth fighting.

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free