How to Get a Kansas Handicap Placard (and Who’s Eligible)

Drivers must display their disabled placard clearly on their rearview mirror when their vehicle is parked in a handicap parking space in Kansas.
Written by Tiffany Leung
Reviewed by Jessica Barrett
Per handicap placard regulations in
, you must display your temporary or permanent disabled placard on the vehicle's rearview mirror or have a disability license plate. The placard can be transferred from one vehicle to another.
Driving with a disability is not only inconvenient but also poses many challenges—regardless of whether it’s a temporary or permanent condition. To assist individuals with disabilities, special placards and license plates are issued in each state for the use of accessible parking spots. 
You could qualify for a disability parking placard or license plate if you’re one of the 27% of Kansans with a disability. However, each state has different regulations concerning handicap placards, so knowing the rules in your home state is important to avoid being fined.
Make safe driving pay
Get rewarded for safe driving. Earn points and unlock benefits. Totally free.
Start earning now
Read on to discover how to get a Kansas handicap placard and who qualifies.

How to get a disabled parking placard or plate in Kansas

In Kansas, you may legally use a disabled parking space if you possess:
  • A temporary placard—valid for up to six months, unless otherwise specified by a licensed medical professional
  • A permanent placard or plate—valid for more than six months
The passes above likely look familiar. They utilize the International Symbol of Access, which is a blue-and-whitestick figure in a wheelchair. However, the use of a wheelchair is not mandatory to be eligible for a disability placard in Kansas.

Who’s eligible for a disabled parking placard?

To be eligible for a disabled parking placard, a licensed medical professional must verify your impaired mobility and state. In general, you must meet at least one of these eligibility requirements:
  • You can’t walk 100 feet without rest
  • You can’t walk without the use of an assistive device, such as a brace, cane, prosthetics, or wheelchair
  • You have a severe visual impairment
  • Your mobility is limited due to an arthritic, neurological, or orthopedic condition
  • You have a lung disease with forced expiratory volume for 1 second less than 1 liter
  • You have a loss of use of one or both legs
  • You are a business or agency that transports individualswith disabilities
As an example, if you got into a car accident that led to a fracture in your ankle and you aren’t able to walk on that leg, this is a temporary disability. You can apply for a temporary placard,which will be valid for six months or until the date specified by a licensed medical professional. 
On the other hand, if you are unable to walk 100 feet without rest due to a limited lung capacity, this can be considered a permanent disability. Even if your disability isn’t apparent, you can still apply for the permanent placard.
You can also apply for a disabled parking license plate for your vehicle. However, this limits the use to only one vehicle. Getting the placard would be more practical if you are a driver or passenger in multiple vehicles.

How to apply

To apply for a disabled placard or license plate in Kansas, you’ll need to fill out the
Certification of Disability for Disabled Parking Placard and/or Plate
(Form TR-159). While the form is straightforward, there are a few points to pay attention to.  
Firstly, you’ll need to provide your identifying information, including your name, physical and mailing address, date of birth, and gender. You’ll also need to sign the form and identify which permit(s) you are applying for:
  • Disabled identification placard or replacement
  • Disabled license plate
  • Wheelchair emblem decal for a license plate 
Permanently disabled individuals have the following choices:
  • One disabled license plate and/or one placard
  • Two placards, but no disabled license plate
  • One placard and one wheelchair emblem decal assigned to a specific plate
Temporarily disabled individuals may be issued one or two temporary placards.
Secondly, an attending licensed professional must certify the healing arts licensed professional’s statement regarding your disability. Their name must be printed or typed in the provided space and signed by the professional—rubber stamps or initials will not be accepted.
It should be noted that the following licensed professionals can sign the statement:
  • A healing arts licensed professional from any state
  • A licensed optometrist, physician’s assistant, or advanced registered nurse practitioner under K.S.A. 65-1131
  • A Christian Science practitioner listed in The Christian Science Journal
All applications must be submitted to your local county treasurer’s office. If you are applying for a disabled license plate, there is a $0.05 fee for the reflective plate.

Renewing a disabled parking plate

If you need to renew your disability parking plate, it must be done before the expirationdate provided. You may complete the renewal at your nearest county treasurer’s office.
Key Takeaway To apply for a disabled parking placard in Kansas, you’ll need a healing arts licensed professional’s statement showing that you have an eligible mobility or vision disability. 
Make safe driving pay
Get rewarded for safe driving. Earn points and unlock benefits. Totally free.
Start earning now

Guidelines for veterans with disabilities

Any Kansas veteran or individual stationed at a Kansas military base is eligible for the Kansas Disabled Veteran license plate if the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) certifies that they have at least a 50% service-connected disability, such as:
  • Lost or permanently lost the use of one or both hands
  • Lost or permanently lost the use of one or both feet
  • A permanent visual impairment in both eyes
Veterans will need to complete the
Application for Disabled Veterans License Plate
(TR-103) and have it signed by the Regional Director of the Veterans Administration. 
Key Takeaway The Kansas Disabled Veteran license plate is available to Kansas resident veterans or individuals stationed at a Kansas military base who have at least a 50% service-connected disability.
rating reverse-full
"I’m earning
awesome rewards
every week, just for driving safe!”

How to find savings on car insurance in Kansas

Permanent or temporary disabilities can often cause financial strain. To relieve some of the burden,
can help you save money on car-related expenses.
As a licensed broker, Jerry has access to the best
car insurance
quotes from over 50 name-brand insurance companies. All you have to do is pick a policy that fits your needs and Jerry will handle the rest—including the paperwork.
Jerry will also send you new quotes every time your policy comes up for renewal to ensure you always have the lowest rate. On average, Jerry users save over $800 a year on car insurance!
Thousands of customers saved on average $887/year on their car insurance with Jerry
This app is great, but the customer service is even better! Not to mention convenient! My husband and I got the lowest rate (much lower than the rates I was finding online through my own searches), quickly, and pretty much all through text message! Thank you so much for a hassle free experience👍
Gabriella R.
Find insurance savings
rating primary
4.7/5 Rating on App Store


No—if you need to renew your disability parking placard, it needs to be done in person at your nearest county treasurer's office.
There is no cost for a handicap placard in Kansas.
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings