Hawaii Driver’s License Requirements

To get a driver’s license in Hawaii, you’ll need valid ID and proof of residence, and you must pass a written exam, vision test, and road test.
Written by Amber Reed
Reviewed by Jessica Barrett
To get your driver’s license in Hawaii, you must be at least 16 years old. You’ll also need to provide valid identification and proof of address. In order to receive a license you’ll need to complete a driver education course, as well as pass a vision test, knowledge exam, and  final road test. 
Getting a driver’s license is an exciting milestone no matter where you live! However, the process is a little different for each state, and there may be some circumstances that could complicate the process.
Car insurance
comparison genius and broker app
is here with everything you need to know in order to get your driver’s license in Hawaii. We even have some tips to help you keep your
Hawaii car insurance costs
low, too.
Make safe driving pay
Get rewarded for safe driving. Earn points and unlock benefits. Totally free.
Start earning now

What are the requirements for a driver’s license in Hawaii?

You must be at least 16 years old to get a driver’s license in Hawaii. Before you head to your county’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), you’ll need to gather the following documents: 
  • Primary identification: a US birth certificate, US passport, US state or local government-issued Consular Report of Birth Abroad, certificate of naturalization, or certificate of citizenship
  • Social Security number: your Social Security card, W-2 form, paycheck including your complete full name and complete SSN, or 1099 form
  • Proof of residential address: a mortgage statement, lease agreement, real property tax assessment form, utility bill, financial statement, paycheck, W-2 or 1099 form, individual income tax return or HW-2 form, or a verification letter from a homeless service provider
Check the Hawaii Department of Transportation website for a
complete list
of documents you can use in your license application based on immigration and citizen status.
Finally, you are required to undergo a medical examination that proves you meet the physical and mental standards to be licensed in Hawaii.

What are the requirements for young drivers? 

If you are under the age of 18 and want to apply for your driver’s license, you’ll need parental consent. In addition, to get a license before the age of 18, you’ll need to:
  • Have held a learner’s permit for at least 180 days with no pending violations.
  • Pass the required vision test
  • Complete a state-certified driver’s education course
  • Pass a road test at a Driver Licensing Center

What are the requirements for out-of-state drivers? 

If you hold a valid driver’s license from another state, you’ll need to visit the Hawaii DMV to transfer your out-of-state license. The process involves filling out an application, submitting your valid out-of-state driver’s license as well as proof of identity, age, residency, and Social Security Number or legal presence. You will also be required to pass a vision test. If your out-of-state license is expired, you may be required to pass both the written test and the road test before you can receive a new Hawaii driver’s license.

How to get a driver’s license in Hawaii

For new drivers: take the TLSAE course 

If you’ve never had a driver’s license or permit, Hawaii requires you to take a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education Course (TLSAE). These courses are offered both online and in a classroom setting. They cover basic traffic laws, especially in regard to road safety and alcohol use.

Vision test

To drive safely, you have to be able to see the road, so all states require some sort of vision test before you can get a license. 
To meet Hawaii’s requirements, you must have 20/40 or better vision in each eye and 130-degree field of vision, or you’ll be referred to a specialist. However, if you’ve seen an eye doctor and gotten corrective lenses, it’s possible to pass with 20/70 vision.

Written exam

Once you’ve passed your TLSAE course and vision test, you’re ready to take the Hawaii DMV written exam. It consists of 30 multiple-choice questions on Hawaii’s traffic laws, road safety practices, and road signs. You can prepare by studying the
Hawaii Driver's Manual
or by taking an
online practice test
To pass your Hawaii DMV written exam, you must get 24 out of 30 questions correct, or 80%

Road test

There’s only one thing left standing between you and your Hawaii driver’s license—the road test, which you can schedule online at
. Before you take your driving test, your vehicle must pass an assessment to ensure that it’s safe and can be legally operated on public roads. Your vehicle must have:
  • A working horn, brakes, tires, steering wheels, turn signals, instrument panel gauges, rear-view mirrors, and brake lights
  • Functional windshield wipers, door handles, headlights, and seatbelts
  • Front and rear license plates that are securely mounted
  • At least a quarter tank of gas
  • Good visibility through all windows
  • A clean and obstruction-free passenger compartment, seat, and floor space
When you arrive at your road test, you must be accompanied by a licensed driver who is 21 or older and have your required documents with you at the time of your exam. Your exam can vary depending on your instructor, but you should be prepared to perform maneuvers like: 
  • A three-point turn
  • Approaching an intersection
  • Observing the right of way
  • Parking in standard conditions and on a hill  
  • Parallel parking
  • A quick stop
  • Moving in reverse
  • Signaling, turning, and passing 
  • Staying in your lane
Your instructor will carefully observe whether you correctly follow all traffic signals, including stop signs. They’ll also note how closely you follow other vehicles and whether you sit with correct posture. 
If you pass your driving test, you’ll be asked to present your documents. You’ll also have to pay a $20 fee for a four-year license if you are between the ages of 17 and 24, or a $40 fee for an eight-year license if you are 25 or older. The Hawaii DMV will issue you a temporary paper license on the day of your test, but you’ll receive your actual license in the mail within a few weeks. 

How to save money on car insurance in Hawaii

That’s all there is to it! Once you’ve passed all your tests and you’re ready to hit the road, it’s time to shop for
car insurance
. We know that doesn’t sound like much fun, but that’s why we’ve made the process so easy here at
Just fill out a short form in Jerry's
trustworthy super app
, and we’ll search for quotes from 50+ top insurance companies like
—helping you find the lowest rates possible. And with the Jerry team’s expert end-to-end support, you can get big savings with very little effort on your end.
“I was a new driver looking for insurance and scared about expensive payments. But then I found
! They saved me almost $150/month.” —Garret I.
rating reverse-full
"I’m earning
awesome rewards
every week, just for driving safe!”


To get your driver’s license in Hawaii, you’ll need valid ID and proof of residence, and you must pass a written exam, vision test, and road test.
The fee for a non-commercial Hawaii driver’s license is $20 for a four-year license if you are between the ages of 17 and 24, or a $40 for an eight-year license if you are age 25 or older.
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings