What is the Driving Age in Oklahoma?

You can begin the Graduated Drivers License program in Oklahoma when you are 15 ½ years old and receive an unrestricted license when you are 17 years old.
Written by Sarah Williams
Reviewed by Kathleen Flear
background
Oklahoma
uses the Graduated Drivers License program (GDL) to give teen drivers the chance to work toward receiving their full license in steps. They can start the process at 15 ½ years old for a learner permit, 16 for a provisional license, and 17 for their full Oklahoma driver's license.  

What is the driving age in Oklahoma?

In Oklahoma, the minimum driving age is 15 ½ years old for a learner permit, 16 for a provisional license, and 17 for a full license.

What is the Graduated Drivers License program in Oklahoma?

Oklahoma uses the Graduated Drivers License program (GDL) to help keep down the high rate of car crashes among teenagers. According to the
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
(CDC), motor vehicle accidents are the second leading cause of death among U.S. teens.
The GDL program works to prevent this by allowing young drivers the chance to gain driving experience in a series of stages before earning full driving privileges. In Oklahoma, these stages are:  
  • Learner permit stage: practice driving supervised 
  • Provisional license stage: unsupervised driving with restrictions
  • Full license stage: unrestricted full driver’s license
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms
Find insurance savings

How to get your learner permit in Oklahoma

Once you turn 15 ½ in Oklahoma, you’re ready to apply for your learner permit! Before the state will green light your driving adventures, you’ll need to follow these eight steps: 
  1. Receive Driver Education. For young drivers under the age of 16 ½, you’ll need to provide proof that you’ve completed a driver's education course. 
  2. Apply in person. Book your appointment
    online
    before visiting your nearest driver's license exam site to save extra time.
  3. Bring your documentation. You’ll need to bring the following documentation to your appointment: 
  4. A piece of primary ID (i.e., birth certificate)
  5. A secondary piece of ID (i.e., social security card)
  6. Your social security number
  7. A letter from an Oklahoma school stating that you meet enrollment, reading, and attendance requirements (if you’re under the age of 18)
  8. Driver education documentation (if between 15 ½ and 16 years old)
  9. Documents that prove a legal name change (if applicable)
  • Pass the vision test. To pass the vision test, you must have at least 20/60 vision (with or without glasses) or at least 20/50 in one eye.
  • Pass the written test. There will be 50 questions about safe driving practices and Oklahoma driving laws on the test. If you fail, you can retake the test for $4 the next business day. 
  • Visit a tag agency. Bring the form confirming you have passed your vision and written test, your primary and secondary identification, and head to the
    nearest Tag Agent
  • Pay your fees. The permit fee is $38.50.
  • Receive your permit. You did it! You’ll now have your learner permit for six months (or 30 days if you’re 18+) before applying for your provisional license. 
  • Oklahoma learner permit restrictions

    During this first stage on your journey to receiving your full Oklahoma license, you have to stick to certain restrictions. You’ll need to be supervised by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old, and you can only drive between 5 a.m. and 10 p.m. Once you’ve held your Learner Permit for at least six months (or 30 days if you are over 18), you’re ready for your provisional license! 
    Compare quotes from 50+ insurers with Jerry in under 45 seconds?
    icon4.7/5 rating on the App Store | Trusted by 5+ million customers and 7 million cars
    icon4.7/5 app rating | Trusted by 5M+ drivers

    How to get your provisional license in Oklahoma

    If you’re between the ages of 16 and 18 and have held your learner permit for at least six months, you are ready to apply for your
    Oklahoma provisional license
    :
    1. Complete your driver's education. If you’re under the age of 16 ½ and have finished your driver’s ed, you’ll need to finish it and bring the certificate to your driving test. 
    2. Practice driving. You’re parent or guardian will need to sign an
      Affidavit of Driver Training
      to certify that you’ve completed at least 50 hours of driving practice (at least 10 of which should be done at night). 
    3. Make your driving test appointment. You can schedule your drive test at DPS
      online
      . The test is free.
    4. Bring the required documentation. You’ll need to bring the following documentation to your drive test appointment: 
    5. Your learner permit (or another form of primary ID)
    6. A secondary ID (i.e., your social security card)
    7. Your social security number
    8. Driver Education Completion Certificate (if you’re under 16 ½ years old)
    9. Insurance Security Verification Form (the VIN number on the form should match the vehicle you will be driving)
  • Bring your parent or guardian. If they cannot attend, make sure to bring the signed Affidavit of Driver Training. 
  • Bring a vehicle. The car you bring to your test should be in good working order, have a current tag, and have valid insurance. 
  • Pass your driving test. This skills test will check to make sure you are a safe driver. You can read about the test in advance
    online
    , and if you fail, the examiner will notify you when you can retake it. 
  • Visit a tag agency. You’ll visit a Tag Agent to purchase your license. Make sure to bring the following: 
  • Your primary and secondary identification
  • The paperwork issued by your examiner
  • Your learner permit
  • Oklahoma provisional license restrictions

    Like with a learner permit, you can still only drive between 5 a.m. and 10 p.m. unless you’re accompanied by a licensed adult over the age of 21, or it is for school, church, or work. In addition, you can’t have more than one passenger who doesn’t live in your home without supervision. 
    If you’re under 18 and have completed your driving education, you can apply for your full license after six months. If you haven’t completed your driver education, you’ll have to hold your Oklahoma Provisional License for one year. 
    “I was a new driver looking for insurance and scared about expensive payments. But then I found
    Jerry
    ! They saved me almost $150/month.” —Garret I.
    Let Jerry find your price in only 45 seconds
    No spam · No long forms · No fees
    Find insurance savings
    It depends on your age, but most drivers will need proof of drivers education, to pass a written, driven, and vision test, and the following documentation: 
    A piece of primary and secondary ID, your social security number, a letter from an Oklahoma school stating that you meet enrollment, reading, and attendance requirements (if you’re under the age of 18), driver education documentation (if you’re between 15 ½ and 16 years old), and documents that prove a legal name change (if applicable).
    You can renew your Oklahoma driver's license online, in person, or by mail. Regardless of how you choose to renew your license, there is a cost of $38.50 (unless you're a senior citizen). Once you've gone through the process to renew your driver's license, you'll get your new copy by mail.
    Are you overpaying for car insurance?
    Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
    Try Jerry

    Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

    √
    No long forms
    √
    No spam or unwanted phone calls
    √
    Quotes from top insurance companies
    Find insurance savings