What is the penalty for driving without a license in Alabama?

What are the consequences if get pulled over in Alabama and I have a South Carolina license?

Answer
“A first-time conviction for driving without a license in Alabama is a misdemeanor. This offense could carry a fine of $10 to $100 in addition to a $50 traffic fund penalty.
That said, if you are licensed in another state, this is legal so long as you have the license on you.
In Alabama, it is also illegal to drive without car insurance.
You must carry at minimum liability insurance in Alabama.”
avatar
Sophie Newman
Answered on Jul 27, 2021
Sophie Newman is a writer from California. Her hobbies include brewing her own kombucha, riding horses, and taking long road trips.
thumb-up

Did this answer help you?

Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
thumb-up

Have a different question?

You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.

Read advice from car experts at Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free