What is the Colorado blood alcohol limit?

I was thinking about taking a road trip to Colorado to try some beers at local craft breweries. While I never drive drunk, I want to know what the limit is for the state. What’s the blood alcohol limit in Colorado?

Eric Schad · Answered on Dec 20, 2022
Reviewed by Shannon Martin, Licensed Insurance Agent.
Colorado is one of the top places to try new brewing concoctions, so police are always on the lookout for intoxicated drivers. The Colorado blood alcohol limit is .08 or 80 mg of alcohol per 100 mL of blood.
The state also has a lesser penalty, known as a DWAI (driving while ability impaired) for blood alcohol content (BAC) between .05 and .079, which can still create legal problems.
If you get a DWAI, you face:
  • Up to 180 days in jail
  • Up to $500 in fines
If you blow at .08 or above, you can also face the following penalties:
  • Up to one year in jail
  • Fines of up to $1,000, not including court costs
  • A minimum license suspension of nine months
If you get a DUI or DWAI in Colorado, you’re likely to see an increase in your car insurance premiums. Before you pay the increased amount, download the Jerry app to compare car insurance quotes quickly and easily.
Jerry is a licensed insurance broker and insurance comparison tool that collects quotes from over 55 top-rated insurers in just 45 seconds. After you find a great rate, Jerry can help you buy new insurance and cancel your old policy. Users save an average of $800+ per year.
View full answer 
Jerry partners with more than 50 insurance companies, but our content is independently researched, written, and fact-checked by our team of editors and agents. We aren’t paid for reviews or other content.

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free