What happens if I drive without a license in North Dakota?

What would happen if I got caught driving without a license? The DMV is far from my house and I only drive occasionally.

Answer
“Unlicensed driving in North Dakota is considered a moving violation that carries a $20 fine. Even without a license, the department of transportation will still add four demerit points to your record, which, once accrued, could affect your ability to obtain a license in the future.
Although the fines for driving without a license aren’t as significant as in some other states, the fines for driving without state-mandated car insurance are significantly higher. You could be charged $150 to $1000 for a first offense.”
avatar
Sophie Newman
Answered on Jul 28, 2021
Sophie Newman is a writer from California. Her hobbies include brewing her own kombucha, riding horses, and taking long road trips.
thumb-up

Did this answer help you?

Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
thumb-up

Have a different question?

You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.