Is it illegal to drive without car insurance in Virginia?
Do I have to insure my VW in the state? I'd rather pay a fee than month-to-month premiums if that's an option.
“If you register a vehicle in Virginia, you have two options in terms of car insurance. You can purchase a valid policy that meets the state minimum requirements, or you can pay a $500 uninsured motor vehicle fee.
The fee doesn’t provide financial coverage in the event of an accident, but it does let you avoid the consequences of driving without insurance, which in Virginia include:
- a $500 fine
- revocation of your driver’s license, vehicle registration, and license plates
- filing an SR-22 certificate, which could affect your insurance rates in the future”
Did this answer help you?
Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
Have a different question?
You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.
Read advice from car experts at Jerry
Browse by topics
What others are asking
Can you drive without car insurance in Hawaii?
I'm considering not renewing my policy and letting my coverage lapse. What will be the consequences if I get pulled over?
Aug 03, 2021
What is the penalty for driving without insurance in Oklahoma?
I bought a truck off of Craigslist but haven't purchased an insurance policy for it yet. The title is transferred. What happens if I never register for insurance in the state?
Aug 03, 2021
How can I get out of a predatory car loan?
I'm stuck with a predatory car loan and the monthly payments are killing me. Any advice you have on getting out of this loan would be appreciated.
Jul 29, 2021