Virginia Car Insurance Laws
Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
- Minimum requirements
- Uninsured/uninsured motorist
- Is minimum enough?
- Uninsured fee
- No insurance penalties
- Diminished value state
- Cheap insurance
Virginia drivers who purchase car insurance are required to carry a minimum amount, summarized as 25/50/20. This is short for: $25,000 of bodily injury liability per person, $50,000 of bodily injury liability per accident, and $20,000 of property liability per accident.
Insured motorists must also carry $25,000 bodily injury per person,$50,000 bodily injury per accident, and $20,000 in property damage per accident in uninsured motorist coverage.
If you’re looking for an easy way to get yourself covered in Virginia, try Jerry. Jerry, a free car insurance broker app, makes it easy to compare car insurance quotes online.
Jerry does all the hard work of finding the cheapest quotes from the top name-brand insurance companies. They will help you buy new car insurance and will even cancel your old policy for you.
Continue reading to learn all the information that you need to know about Virginia car insurance laws.
What car insurance is required by law in Virginia?
The state of Virginia requires drivers who purchase car insurance to carry a minimum amount of liability insurance and uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance.
Here is a brief summary of the minimum insurance limits that Virginia car insurance laws require.
Virginia minimum car insurance
|Type of coverage||Minimum insurance limit|
|Minimum liability coverage||25/50/20|
|Bodily injury per accident||$25,000|
|Bodily injury per person||$50,000|
|Property damage per accident||$20,000|
|Uninsured motorist coverage||25/50/20|
|Bodily injury per person||$25,000|
|Bodily injury per accident||$50,000|
|Property damage per accident||$20,000|
Key Takeaway Virginia drivers are not legally required to purchase car insurance, must legally carry a minimum amount of liability car insurance and uninsured motorist coverage.
MORE: Lemon law Virginia
What is uninsured/underinsured motorist protection?
Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage covers drivers up to their policy limit in an accident where they are not at fault—but only if the other driver doesn’t have enough liability coverage to cover your costs.
The required uninsured motorist limits in VA are summarized as 25/50/20.
Liability insurance in VA
Virginia drivers who choose to purchase car insurance must carry minimum limits of both bodily injury liability and property damage liability insurance. Liability insurance will pay out to cover expenses related to an accident—but only for the other party.
You will need to purchase additional coverage options to ensure your own costs will be covered in an at-fault accident.
What are the mandated car insurance limits in Virginia?
All Virginia motorists need to carry basic liability insurance limits and uninsured motorist limits that are summed up as 25/50/20.
In all, Virginia drivers must purchase six different categories of car insurance coverages.
Here is how it all breaks down.
$25,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per person: $25,000 per person is the maximum amount your insurance provider will pay out to cover the cost of injuries for other parties involved in an at-fault accident.
$50,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per accident: Your insurance company will pay out no more than $50,000 to cover the cost of injuries for an at-fault accident.
$20,000 in property damage liability per accident: $20,000 is the maximum limit that your insurance provider will pay out to cover the cost of property damage suffered by other parties in an at-fault accident.
$25,000 of bodily injury uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance per person: If you get in an accident where an uninsured or underinsured driver is at fault, your insurance provider will pay up to $25,000 to help cover the cost of injuries for your party.
$50,000 of bodily injury uninsured motorist coverage per accident: $50,000 is the highest bodily injury uninsured/underinsured motorist payout you can receive in a single accident.
$20,000 of property damage uninsured motorist coverage per accident: Your provider will pay out up to $20,000 per accident toward your property damage expenses if you get in an accident with a driver who doesn’t carry enough coverage to cover the costs.
Should I get more coverage than Virginia’s required insurance minimum?
While Virginia does require drivers to carry more robust car insurance coverage than some states—the minimum state limits won’t cover your own expenses if you are at fault.
Most experts recommend upgrading your liability limits to 50/100/50 to help ensure you don’t face legal liability following a major claim.
Upgrading your policy to include additional coverage options like medical payments (MedPay), comprehensive insurance, and collision insurance is the only way for Virginia drivers to be sure that their own costs will be also be covered.
Whether you are looking for more affordable coverage or tailored policy options, Jerry can provide you with competitive quotes in under a minute. Swapping is just as effortless. Jerry takes care of all the paperwork and phone calls and even cancels your old policy on your behalf—oh, and it’s free!
Uninsured motorist fee
Virginia is one of only two states where drivers are not legally required to purchase car insurance; however, you will have to pay an uninsured motorist fee of $500.
You will also have to take responsibility for your own costs following an accident if you choose not to purchase the state minimum car insurance requirements. —which is generally not recommended.
What is the penalty for not having car insurance in Virginia?
A Virginia driver who can’t show valid proof of insurance or proof of having paid the uninsured motorist fee will face penalties, including fines and suspensions.
Penalties for driving without car insurance in Virginia
- A fine of $500
- Must provide an SR-22 form for three years
- Possible license and registration suspensions and $145 reinstatement fee
Key Takeaway Virginia motorists who fail to meet the minimum state insurance requirements will face fines and other penalties.
Additional coverage options
Virginia motorists might want to upgrade their car insurance coverage to provide added protection and peace of mind. These are some popular policy choices that car insurance companies typically provide.
Comprehensive coverage covers the cost of damage to a vehicle caused by events like severe weather, theft, or vandalism.
Collision coverage will protect you up to your policy limit for damage to your car caused by a claimable collision or rollover.
Loan/lease payoff insurance
Often referred to as gap insurance—cover the difference between what you owe on your totaled car and the settlement that you receive from your insurance provider following an accident.
Medical payments (MedPay) insurance
Medical payments (MedPay) will cover you up to your policy limit for medical expenses relating to a claimable accident, no matter who was at fault.
Rental car reimbursement insurance
Rental reimbursement insurance helps cover the cost of alternate transportation if your car requires multi-day repairs as the result of a claim.
Roadside assistance insurance
Often referred to as towing and labor coverage, this popular policy rider gives drivers access to limited roadside emergency services like towing and fuel delivery.
MORE: What happens if you get into a car accident with someone in Virginia who doesn’t have insurance?
Why is Virginia considered a diminished value state?
Virginia is one of a handful of states that allows motorists to make diminished value claims to recover any value their car loses in resale value following repairs.
Diminished value claims can be made through the at-fault driver’s insurance company if you choose to sell your car after a claimable accident.
In order to make a diminished value claim in Virginia, your circumstances will need to meet the following criteria:
- You were not found to be at fault in the accident
- You can provide reliable documentation, like proof of your car’s value, the repair record, and photo evidence
- It hasn’t been more than three years since the claim was made
- The at-fault driver had insurance
Key Takeaway Diminished value claims allow drivers to recoup some of the value of their car that is lost following repairs.
How to get cheap car insurance in Virginia
Jerry is a free insurance shopping app that makes it easy to find cheap car insurance in Virginia, or anywhere else in the country.
Think of Jerry as a personal insurance broker that lives in your pocket. But don’t worry about buying tiny office furniture—Jerry is an app. Once you download Jerry, just answer a handful of questions that will take you roughly 45 seconds to complete and you’ll immediately get car insurance quotes for coverage similar to your current plan. Jerry customers save an average of $879 a year.
“Jerry is such an amazing insurance agent app! My husband and I recently heard about Jerry and decided it was time to give Jerry a try! And let me tell you, it’s saving us $216 a month!”—Satisfied Jerry user
Is it mandatory to have car insurance in Virginia?
Virginia is one of only two states where drivers are not legally required to purchase car insurance. However, you will have to pay the uninsured motorist fee of $500 and take responsibility for your own costs following an accident if you choose not to purchase the state minimum car insurance requirements—which is generally not recommended.
Does insurance follow the car or driver in Virginia?
In most cases, car insurance in Virginia will follow the car, not the driver.
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually