If I inadvertently leave my driver's license at home and I get in a car accident, will my insurance rates go up in Tennessee?
Will forgetting my license add an additional amount to my monthly premium? Sometimes I take my license out of my wallet and forget. I'm worried if I get in an accident and don't have it that it will affect my insurance too.
Answer provided by
Answered on Jul 22, 2021
Sophie Newman is a writer from California. Her hobbies include brewing her own kombucha, riding horses, and taking long road trips.
“In Tennessee, driving without a license in your possession is a Class C misdemeanor that’s punishable by up 30 days in jail and/or a maximum fine of $50.
But because driving without a license in your possession isn’t a moving violation, it’s unlikely that it will cause your car insurance rates to go up.
If you’re in an accident, you’re definitely going to see a rate increase, regardless of who’s at fault.
On average, you should see a spike of 12% on your rate. That’s not bad considering your rates would go up 45% on average if you caused the accident.
Even if you’re not in an accident, always keep your license with you. It’ll save you some hard-earned cash in the long run.”
Did this answer help you?
Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
Have a different question?
You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.
Browse by topics
What others are asking
What does it mean to be the primary driver on car insurance in Texas?
My mom is listed as the primary driver on the policy that both my brother and I are on as well. If we all share the same car, what does it mean that she's the primary driver?
Jul 22, 2021
Can you purchase insurance without a driver's license in Hawaii?
Will insurance companies still offer me a policy if my license expired? I want to purchase comprehensive coverage for the vehicle that I'm not currently driving, but my license has expired.
Jul 22, 2021