How Many Dogs Can You Have in Arkansas?

Find out if you're getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
No long forms · No spam · No fees
4.7
App rating
25M
Insurance Quotes
2M+
Happy users
$15M+
Savings found every month
Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
Municipalities in Arkansas generally limit dog ownership to 4 dogs per home. However, limits vary by area, so there may be specific guidelines for you to follow depending on where you reside.
Although it may seem strange to place a limit on how many adorable pups we can bring into our homes, regulations are in place to ensure our Doodles and Dobermanns alike are getting the care they need. Before you start expanding your family of furry companions, you should be aware of the specific rules pertaining to dog ownership in the Wonder State. 
To give you a breakdown of dog laws, Jerry, the home insurance broker and super app, has compiled this guide to legal dog ownership in Arkansas.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

Does Arkansas have laws limiting how many dogs you can own?

There are limits to how many canines you can call your own in Arkansas. However, these limits are contingent on the city or municipality within which you reside, so be sure to check out the specific laws in your area. 
To give you an idea of the types of restrictions you can expect, we’ll give you a breakdown of the dog-limiting laws in various cities:
  • For Jacksonville and Bentonville residents, the magic number is four. It is against the law to own, keep, or harbor more than 4 dogs (and/or cats) over the age of 4 months
  • In Greenwood, residents are permitted no more than 4 dogs, cats, wolves, wolf hybrids, or ferrets per household
  • Little Rock residents have a little more leeway and are permitted no more than 4 dogs and 4 cats per household unless the resident has a kennel permit
  • In Texarkana, you can legally own 4 dogs. However, if your pups are less than 6 months old, you are allowed more. If they are older than 6 months, you will need a breeder’s license

Are there any dog breeds outlawed in Arkansas?

Arkansas has strict rules outlawing dog breeds, particularly Pitbulls. If you live in any of the following cities, you cannot legally own a Pitbull:
Arkansas does not have a dangerous dog statute. However, if a dog bites another person, its owner must notify public health authorities immediately. 

What are the leash laws in Arkansas?

While there are no statewide dog leash laws in Arkansas, certain municipalities, such as Cabot and Little Rock, have adopted basic leash laws. These laws require that dogs be on a leash at all times and that the owner has control over the animal while outside the home.
Under Arkansas law, municipalities also have the power to develop their own rules and regulations pertaining to:
  • Dogs that are a threat to public health (i.e. dogs running at large without a rabies vaccination)
  • Dogs that are an annoyance to animal control and animal shelters
  • Dogs that have injured people or other domestic animals

Penalties for breaking dog laws in Arkansas

Similar to dog leash regulations, Arkansas has no statewide dog bite laws. However, the state does have laws regarding vicious dog attacks, or “Unlawful Dog Attack” regulations.
An incident can be classified under this regulation if the attack:
  • Occurred with the knowledge that the dog was a danger to others (i.e. the attack was intentional)
  • Resulted in serious injury or death of the attacked person
The penalties for an incident of this nature would include a Class A misdemeanor, along with compensation or restitution payments to the attacked person. 
On the other hand, if an attack occurs without any prior incidents of dangerous behavior, Arkansas law would require the dog to be confined by health authorities and assessed for rabies. 
Keep in mind that it is against the law to not inform health authorities of dog bite incidents, for the owner to sell the dog after it has bitten a person, and for the dog to be moved to another location or disposed of before notifying health authorities. 

Where to find affordable insurance in Arkansas

While your dog may be a walking, barking alarm system, it’s still a good idea to protect you and your furry companion with homeowners insurance. With #1 rated super-app Jerry, you’ll be connected with competitive quotes from over 55 insurance providers.
Just download the app, enter your information, and you’ll be protected in no time.
The average Jerry user saves over $800 per year! With savings like that, you’ll be able to give your dog the care they need.
Jerry was wonderful! I used it for my auto and renters policies. I trusted it so much that I signed up my homeowners insurance under Jerry as well. All of the agents are amazingly nice and knowledgeable.” —Mary Y.
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Find Savings!
No long forms. No spam calls. Free Quotes.
4.7/5 App Store Rating, 8,100+ Reviews
Trusted by 1.5+ Million Customers.
rating primary

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free