How Long Do Points Stay on Your Record After a Speeding Ticket?
Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
If you get a speeding ticket, you can typically expect the points to stay on your record for three years, though this time frame can vary.
Beyond the points, you’ll also be looking at a fine and higher car insurance rates.
If you’re looking for affordable insurance coverage after getting a speeding ticket, you’re in luck. The top-rated insurance-comparison app Jerry can get you car insurance quotes online in seconds, with no hassle and no paperwork.
Think of Jerry as your personal insurance concierge. After you select the best quote, Jerry does all the work to set up your new policy—and it even cancels your old policy on your behalf. The best part? It’s totally free!
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
How long does a speeding ticket impact insurance rates?
In general, a speeding ticket will impact your insurance rates for three years. But this can vary depending on your insurance company, where you live, and the seriousness of the violation.
Some insurers will give you a break for your first offense, or they may offer accident forgiveness coverage. But in most cases, you’ll be looking at a rate hike after any moving violation.
While one insurance company might really care about your violation, another might be less concerned. This is why if you’ve received a speeding ticket, it’s definitely worth shopping around for car insurance using the quote-comparison app Jerry.
Insurance companies weigh violations differently, and you may be able to find a provider who doesn’t penalize you as severely. You don’t want to pay more than necessary simply because you didn’t get multiple quotes!
How the driver’s license points system works
In many states, DMVs assign points for certain traffic violations as a way to identify and take action against high-risk drivers.
The following offenses are likely to add points to your record:
- Driving over the posted speed limit (speeding)
- Reckless or careless driving
- At-fault accidents
- Failure to stop for a school bus, at a stop sign, or at a red light
- Improper passing
- Driving under the influence (DUI)
The point system varies from state to state. This means, for example, that the number of points that result in the suspension of your driver’s license is different depending on where you live.
In New York, a speeding violation of one to 10 mph over the posted limit will net you three points on your driving record.
In California, though, speeding is worth just one point on your record as long as you’re driving under 100 mph. If you’re caught driving over this limit, you’ll get two points.
Some states don’t use the point system at all, though they still monitor your driving record to see if your license should be suspended or revoked. They are:
- Rhode Island
You should also be aware that car insurance companies don’t use the same point system as the DMV to determine your rates. Instead, they have their own proprietary point systems that determine how much your insurance premium will rise, depending on the severity of your violation.
How does your driving record affect your insurance premium?
With most insurance companies, violations that occurred in the past three years will lead to higher premiums through surcharges.
And while the violations won’t necessarily affect your rates after the three-year chargeable period is up, insurers can use a poor driving record as a reason to deny you a policy.
In some cases, taking a defensive driving course after a moving violation can encourage insurers to see you as less risky. It might even qualify you for future insurance discounts.
If you have a speeding violation or other chargeable offense on your record, you can still find affordable auto insurance by shopping with Jerry. It takes seconds for the app to generate competitive quotes from top providers.
Jerry gathers all your information from your current insurer, so you’re not responsible for any long forms or phone calls. Basically, you get all of the savings and coverage with none of the hassle!
“I am young (27) and I also have a speeding ticket on my record. I was paying $310 a month for insurance. I had shopped around before but was all quoted around the same price. I used Jerry and they managed to get me full comprehensive coverage on both vehicles for $144 a month through progressive. I don’t know how they did it but now I’m saving $150 a month! Definitely recommend you give them a try!” - Satisfied Jerry User
Thousands of customers saved on average $887/year on their car insurance with Jerry
This app is great, but the customer service is even better! Not to mention convenient! My husband and I got the lowest rate (much lower than the rates I was finding online through my own searches), quickly, and pretty much all through text message! Thank you so much for a hassle free experience👍
Frequently asked questions
How long do points stay on your record?
The general rule is that points will remain on your driving record for three years, but this isn’t set in stone and can vary depending on factors like your insurer, the state you live in, and the violation that was committed.
If you receive a speeding ticket, the resulting points will likely stay on your record for three years.
More serious offenses like stunt driving or DUIs will affect you for much longer—the points can stay on your record for up to 10 years, in some cases.
How many points can you get on your record?
The number of points you can accumulate before your license is suspended depends on where you live.
In California, it takes just four points to get a year-long suspension. Idaho is even less tolerant, handing out one-year license suspensions for just two points.
On the flip side, in Utah, you can accumulate 200 points on your driving record before you get a three-year license suspension.
Most states will suspend your license after 10 to 15 points, though the number of points you’ll get for the violations varies.
Some states don’t use the point system, but that doesn’t mean you’re off the hook. They do monitor driving records to identify risky drivers—and if they find serious offenses that warrant suspension, you can be sure that they’ll take action.
How many points do I have on my record?
If you want to know how many points you have on your record, you’ll need to check with your state DMV.
In most cases, you can get a copy of your official driving history report online. If you’re unable to find it online, you may need to request a copy in writing.
Where to get the cheapest car insurance with points on your record after speeding
If you’ve gotten a speeding ticket, this doesn’t mean you can’t find affordable car insurance coverage.
With Jerry, you’ll get competitive car insurance quotes in under a minute. And once you find your deal, making the switch effortless. Jerry will take care of all the paperwork and phone calls, and it will even cancel your old policy on your behalf.
When it’s time to renew your policy, Jerry will present you with more competitive quotes so you’re always getting the best deal for the coverage you need.
Just be aware that switching insurance companies doesn’t mean the surcharge for your violation will go away. Your new company will still apply a surcharge until the chargeable period ends—it will just be a smaller surcharge.
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually