How to Renew Your Driver's License in Vermont

You can renew your Vermont license online, by mail, or in person at the DMV. It costs $32 for a two-year license or $51 for a four-year license.
Written by Macy Fouse
Reviewed by Jessica Barrett
You can renew your Vermont driver’s license online, by mail, or in person depending on your eligibility. Every license renewal will require either a $32 or $51 fee, and you’ll get your new license by mail in 10 to 14 business days. 
Getting your license renewed isn’t the most thrilling chore, but it’s a fact of life for all drivers. Don’t put off your visit to the DMV, though—driving with an expired license could lead to big fines and penalties!
If your Vermont license is up for renewal and you aren’t sure what steps to take, you came to the right place.
Car insurance
comparison super app
is here to help you through the process of renewing your driver’s license in the Green Mountain State—plus, how to save on your
Vermont car insurance costs
Make safe driving pay
Get rewarded for safe driving. Earn points and unlock benefits. Totally free.
Start earning now

When to renew your driver’s license in Vermont

All driver’s license cards list an expiration date on the front. On Vermont licenses, this date is listed on the bottom right of your card, right above the issuance date.
Your license expires every two or four years, depending on the method you used last time you renewed. You can renew your Vermont license up to six months before the expiration date. You should also receive a renewal notice in the mail about 30 days before your license expires, which will include your renewal application and renewal PIN. 

How to renew your driver’s license in Vermont

Depending on your eligibility, you may be able to renew your license online, by mail, or in person

Renew your license online

To renew your license online, your current license photo must be valid for four years or more. If you qualify, you can renew your Vermont license on the
DMV portal
. Before getting started, you’ll want to make sure you have the following information on hand: 
  • Your date of birth
  • Your license number 
  • Your social security number or renewal PIN
  • A valid credit card number 
  • A working email address
The renewal fee is $32 for a regular two-year license and $51 for a four-year license. After completing the online process, you’ll receive a confirmation that you can print and use as your license until you receive your new card. 

Renew your license by mail

To qualify for mail renewal, your license photo must have been taken within the last four years, and you can’t have a commercial driver’s license. 
To renew your Vermont license by mail, you’ll need to fill out the application in the mail renewal notice or complete a
VL-021 form
. Then you’ll send your completed form to the following address:
Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles
120 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05603-0001

Renew your license in person

If you need to renew your license in person, you can
schedule an appointment online
or by phone by calling 888-970-0357. When you head to your local DMV, you’ll need to make sure to bring your completed renewal application or
VL-021 form
and payment for the fee. You may also need to bring the following: 
  • Social Security number 
  • Two documents proving your Vermont residency 
  • One document confirming your identity and date of birth 
  • Proof of lawful U.S. presence, if not a citizen 
You may also be required to pass a vision test, provide your signature, be fingerprinted, and have your photo taken.

How long does it take to renew a Vermont driver’s license? 

In general, you can expect to receive your permanent license in the mail within 10 days. It may take up to two weeks if the USPS is experiencing delays.

How to save money on car insurance in Vermont

When you get your driver’s license updated, it may be time to update your car insurance policy too. Odds are you’re probably overpaying for coverage. 
Vermont car insurance tends to be some of the most affordable in the country, but that doesn’t mean you can’t find rates that are even cheaper. By using the
app, you can shop for the best
car insurance
rates without leaving the couch. 
As a licensed broker and comparison shopping expert, Jerry searches quotes from 50+ top companies in under 45 seconds, finding you the most affordable policies in your area—all with the tap of your thumb.
When you find your best match, Jerry’s team of experts will help you handle the paperwork to switch policies—and they’ll even help you cancel your old policy! Jerry is the No. 1-rated insurance app for a reason: Jerry users save an average of $887 per year on car insurance! 
had a super simple app that was easy to navigate. And their terrific customer service made everything even easier. Plus I saved $700 in a single year.” —Lucia M.
rating reverse-full
"I’m earning
awesome rewards
every week, just for driving safe!”


You’ll have 14 days after your expiration date to get your license renewed. After this period, you’ll get stuck with a $162 fine for a first offense if pulled over with an expired license. If it happens again, you could land in jail for 60 days with a maximum fee of $5,000.
You can renew your Vermont license on the DMV portal if your license photo is valid for four years or more.
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings