South Carolina Window Tint Law

Find out if you're getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
South Carolina window tint law allows for 27% Visible Light Transmission (VLT) on the side and rear windows. Any level tint is allowed on the top three inches of windshields.
Window tinting provides sun protection, reduces glare, and offers privacy. However, the laws are different in every state and can even vary between different types of vehicles. For example, in South Carolina, the guidelines are a little different for sedans and SUVs.
Luckily, the car insurance comparison app, Jerry, lays out all the details so you can be confident you’re in compliance with South Carolina’s window tinting laws.
Compare real <State> car insurance rates in just 45 seconds!
Quotes from up to 50+ companies
No long forms
No phone calls

What is the visible light transmission percentage?

The visible light transmission (VLT) percentage is the amount of light able to go, or transmit, through a window. If the number is lower, less light will be able to pass through. 
In South Carolina, nearly all cars need 27% VLT for the side windows. This is in contrast to the “limo tint”, which only allows 5% of light through. 

What is the South Carolina window tint law?

The South Carolina window tint varies according to the vehicle you drive. The limits for sedans are as follows:
  • Front windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed above the manufacturer’s AS-1 line
  • Front seat side windows: Up to 27% VLT 
  • Back seat side windows: Up to 27% VLT
  • Rear window: Up to 27% VLT and dual side mirrors are required
The limits for SUVs and vans are:
  • Front windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed above the manufacturer’s AS-1 line
  • Front seat side windows: Up to 27% VLT 
  • Back seat side windows: Any darkness is allowed several inches from the top of the window
  • Rear window: Any darkness is allowed and dual side mirrors are required
You’re not allowed to tint your windows so they look metallic or mirrored. Reflective tinting is not legal on sedans, SUVs, and vans.
Tint colors red, amber, and yellow are prohibited by law in South Carolina.
Manufacturers are required to certify the tint before they sell it in South Carolina. Be sure to check that your dealer is using certified film.
Plus, your car will need a sticker between the window and film on every tinted window to identify it’s been tinted according to South Carolina’s laws.

Medical exemptions

The state offers medical exemptions for people with certain physical conditions. A physician or optometrist must sign an affidavit explaining the need for tinting that goes against state law. 
The affidavit must be carried in the vehicle at all times. It needs to be renewed every two years.

Penalties for window tint law violations

The penalty for violating the tint laws is a misdemeanor. It comes with a minimum $200 fine or 30 days in prison for each offense.

Finding auto insurance

Now that South Carolina tinting laws are clear, take a minute to review your car insurance
In under a minute, you can shop different carriers with the auto insurance comparison app Jerry. Jerry will show you great deals from over 50 name-brand carriers. When you find the coverage that’s right for you, Jerry will assist with the paperwork and help cancel your old policy!
“After using Jerry twice, I can confidently recommend them for insuring a new car or renewing for an existing car. Phenomenal service.” —Phil E.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever


Usually, it will cost between $150 and $500 to tint your car windows. The amount you’ll pay depends on where you have the work done.

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free