Pennsylvania Window Tint Law

In Pennsylvania, you can have a tint darkness of up to 70% on your car and even more on other vehicles.
Written by Brad Marley
Reviewed by Jessica Barrett
Pennsylvania
window tint law allows for 70% Visible Light Transmission (VLT) on the side and rear windows. Any percentage of tint is allowed on the top three inches of windshields.
Window tinting provides sun protection, reduces glare, and offers privacy to passengers. However, the
laws
for permissible window tinting are different in every state. The rules can even vary between different types of vehicles. In Pennsylvania, for example, the guidelines are a little different for sedans and SUVs.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms
Find insurance savings

What is the visible light transmission percentage?

The visible light transmission (VLT) percentage is the amount of light able to pass, or transmit, through a window. The lower the number, the less light transfers through. 
In Pennsylvania, nearly all cars need 70% VLT for the side windows. That said, some limousines may have only 5% VLT—aka “limo tint”—letting hardly any light in at all.

What is the Pennsylvania window tint law?

The Pennsylvania window tint varies according to the vehicle you drive. The limits for sedans are:
  • Front windshield: More than 70% VLT, any darkness on the top 3 inches
  • Front seat side windows: Up to 70% VLT 
  • Back seat side windows: Up to 70% VLT
  • Rear window: Up to 70% VLT and dual side mirrors are required
The limits for SUVs and vans are:
  • Front windshield: More than 70% VLT, any darkness on the top 3 inches
  • Front seat side windows: Up to 70% VLT 
  • Back seat side windows: Any darkness is allowed
  • Rear window: Any darkness is allowed and dual side mirrors are required
You are not allowed to tint your windows so they look metallic or mirrored. Reflective tinting is prohibited on sedans, SUVs, and vans, but there are no restrictions on tinting colors.
Manufacturers aren’t required to certify the tint they sell in this state. However, your car will need a sticker to identify that it’s been tinted according to Pennsylvania law.

Medical exemptions

The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) offers medical exemptions to people with certain physical conditions. The DMV works in conjunction with the Medical Advisory Board to justify the exemption and allow darker tinting. 
A physician or optometrist must certify the condition. The exemptions apply to the individual with the verified condition, and others in the household who regularly drive the vehicle will benefit as well. 
rating reverse-full
"I’m earning
awesome rewards
every week, just for driving safe!”

Fines for window tint law violations

If you violate the window tint laws, you can be fined up to $110.

Finding cheap auto insurance

Now that you’re clear about the window tinting laws in Pennsylvania, it’s a good time to review your
car insurance
Trustworthy insurance comparison app
and licensed broker
Jerry
can find you great deals from over 50 name-brand carriers. In under a minute you can shop different carriers. When you find the coverage that’s right for you, Jerry will help with the paperwork and even with canceling your old policy!
“Without a doubt, using
Jerry
was a seamless process!  The staff was attentive to my every question. My new Nationwide policy premium saves me $200 a month. Let them save you money too!” —Kenny P. 
icon
Make safe driving pay
Get rewarded for safe driving. Earn points and unlock benefits. Totally free.
Start earning now
Usually, it will cost between $150 and $500 to tint your car windows. The amount you’ll pay depends on what part of the car is tinted.
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings