Rhode Island Window Tint Law

Find out if you're getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
In Rhode Island, window tint law permits 70% Visible Light Transmission (VLT) on the side and rear windows. Non-reflective tinting is allowed on windshields above the manufacturer’s AS-1 line.
The benefits of window tinting include sun protection, privacy to passengers, and glare reduction. However, tinting laws are different in every state and for different vehicles. For example, the window tint laws in Rhode Island are a little different for sedans and SUVs.
In this article, the car insurance comparison app, Jerry, explains the details so you can be confident you’re following state guidelines and are ready to hit the road in Rhode Island 
Compare real <State> car insurance rates in just 45 seconds!
Quotes from up to 50+ companies
No long forms
No phone calls

What is the visible light transmission percentage?

The visible light transmission (VLT) percentage is the amount of light able to go, or transmit, through a window. If the number is lower, less light will be allowed through. 
In Rhode Island, nearly all cars need 70% VLT for the side windows. In contrast, “limo tint” is a 5% VLT and lets hardly any light in at all.

What is the Rhode Island window tint law?

The Rhode Island window tint varies according to the vehicle you drive. The limits for sedans are:
  • Front windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed above the manufacturer’s AS-1 line
  • Front seat side windows: Up to 70% VLT 
  • Back seat side windows: Up to 70% VLT
  • Rear window: Up to 70% VLT 
The limits for SUVs and vans are:
  • Front windshield: Non-reflective tint is allowed above the manufacturer’s AS-1 line
  • Front seat side windows: Up to 70% VLT 
  • Back seat side windows: Any darkness is allowed
  • Rear window: Any darkness is allowed
Rhode Island does not require dual side mirrors for tinted vehicles. 
There is no specific law prohibiting reflective tint that makes windows appear metallic or mirrored. There are also no restrictions on tinting colors.
Some states require manufacturers to certify the tint they sell and provide you with a sticker to show compliance with tint laws. In Rhode Island, neither of these is applicable. 

Medical exemptions

Rhode Island offers medical exemptions to people with certain physical conditions.  The state recommends checking the current law to see specific exemption guidelines.

Fines for window tint law violations

If you violate the window tint laws in Rhode Island, you can be fined up to $250 per offense.

Finding auto insurance

Now that Rhode Island tinting law is more clear, it’s a good time to review your car insurance
The auto insurance comparison app Jerry finds quotes from over 50 name-brand carriers. In just seconds, you can find the perfect policy for your situation. Then, Jerry will handle the paperwork and even help cancel your old policy!
“After signing up with Jerry, I went from $199/month to $97/month for my car insurance. My 2019 Subaru Forester now has full coverage for a great price!” —Rhonda H.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

FAQs

Usually, it will cost between $150 and $500 to tint your car windows. The amount you’ll pay depends on the shop where you get the work done.

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free