Oregon Move Over Laws

Failure to move over for stopped emergency vehicles or vehicles indicating distress in Oregon carries a minimum fine of $265.
Written by Melanie Johnson
Reviewed by Jessica Barrett
law, failure to move over or slow down for a stopped vehicle with flashing lights could lead to a $265 fine. If the violation occurs in a safety, school, or work zone, the fine could be as high as $525. 
Make safe driving pay
Get rewarded for safe driving. Earn points and unlock benefits. Totally free.
Start earning now

What are the move over laws in Oregon?

Oregon’s move over law (ORS 811.147) states that “drivers approaching any type of emergency vehicle, tow truck, roadside assistance or any vehicle stopped on the roadside with emergency lights activated must change lanes if possible or slow down.”  
In the event of approaching an emergency vehicle with flashing lights, you should:
  • Move over into another available lane if possible
  • If you can’t change lanes, slow down to a speed that is at least 5 mph below the posted speed limit
  • Provide as much room as possible for the emergency vehicle 

What is considered an emergency vehicle in Oregon?

The Oregon move over law defines emergency vehicles as “vehicles operated in an effort to protect, provide or restore public safety.” These include but are not limited to:
  • Patrol cars
  • Ambulances
  • Fire trucks
  • Tow trucks
  • Maintenance and utility vehicles
However, keep in mind that the move over law also applies to stranded motorists with hazard lights on. A good rule of thumb is: when you see flashing lights on any vehicle on the side of the road, move over or reduce your speed. 

Penalties for violating Oregon’s move over laws

If you fail to pull over or slow down when approaching a stopped emergency vehicle or one indicating caution or distress, you may face the following penalties: 
  • A minimum fine of $265 
  • A fine of $525 if the violation occurs within a safety corridor, school zone, or work zone
Unlike other states, Oregon doesn’t have a point system, so no points will be added to your license.
If you commit a move over violation that results in death, the consequences are more severe. You could be charged with second-degree manslaughter, which carries a fine of up to $250,000 and up to 10 years in prison.To save lives and avoid a large fine, change lanes or slow down if you see a stopped vehicle with flashing lights.  
MORE: How to get car insurance with a bad driving record
rating reverse-full
"I’m earning
awesome rewards
every week, just for driving safe!”

Can violating move over laws raise your insurance? 

Yes, it can. However, the amount your insurance premium increases after a move over law violation depends on the specific circumstances and the severity of the charges. 
People with clean driving records usually pay less for
auto insurance
than those with tickets, accidents, and other driving offenses, so it’s best to avoid a move over violation and save money by practicing safe driving behaviors. 
“Amazing! I’ll admit, I’m young with 2 accidents. This spiked my insurance rates and every quote I found.
, though, helped me find affordable insurance. It truly helped me!” —Marcus F.

Why are there move over laws?

Move over laws were passed in response to the large number of emergency workers being struck and killed by negligent drivers. These laws, which almost every state has adopted, require drivers to provide space for emergency workers and roadside utility vehicles. 
Oregon first passed its move over law in 2010, and it was amended in 2017 to include non-emergency vehicles working roadside. Oregon’s law even applies to stranded motorists displaying flashing lights.

How to find cheap insurance after a traffic conviction

No matter what your
Oregon driving record
looks like, you can find the lowest available rate with the
Before every policy renewal period, you’ll be presented with new competitive quotes, which means you’ll always have the best coverage at the best price. If you want to switch to a new policy, as a
licensed broker
, Jerry can help cancel your old one.
Jerry can re-shop at any time to make sure you’re still getting the best rate, despite any crisis or citation on your driving record.
Thousands of customers saved on average $887/year on their car insurance with Jerry
This app is great, but the customer service is even better! Not to mention convenient! My husband and I got the lowest rate (much lower than the rates I was finding online through my own searches), quickly, and pretty much all through text message! Thank you so much for a hassle free experience👍
Gabriella R.
Find insurance savings
rating primary
4.7/5 Rating on App Store
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings