How to Renew Your Driver's License in Michigan

Driver’s License renewal in Michigan will cost you $18 and can be done online, in person, through the mail, or at a self-service station.
Written by Amber Reed
Reviewed by Jessica Barrett
drivers can renew their licenses by mail, online, in person, or through a self-service station. The renewal fee is $18, with a $7 late fee penalty. Michigan law requires drivers to renew their licenses in person at the Secretary of State’s office every 12 years. 
Let’s be honest—nobody likes having to jump through bureaucratic hoops, even for something as relatively straightforward as renewing your driver’s license. But it doesn’t have to be as tedious a process as you might think! Michigan offers some easy and user-friendly ways to get your license renewed without the hassle. 
Make safe driving pay
Get rewarded for safe driving. Earn points and unlock benefits. Totally free.
Start earning now

When to renew your driver’s license in Michigan

Driver’s licenses are generally valid for four years in Michigan. If you’re under 21, then your license will expire on your 21st birthday. 
You can renew up to one year early, if necessary or desired. About 45 days before your driver's license expires, the Secretary of State will mail a renewal notice to the last address that’s on file for you. Make sure you know when your license is due to expire and keep your address current—you don’t want to get caught with an expired license in Michigan!

How to renew your driver’s license in Michigan

Depending on what you need to do, you can renew in person, through the mail, online, or at a self-service station. 
Pro Tip Michigan is currently one of only a few states that offer
enhanced driver’s licenses
(EDLs). These meet Real ID standards, as well as offer a few additional features that are useful for travel.

Renew your license online

If you have renewed your license in person in the past eight years and you don’t have any information changes besides an updated address, you can
renew your Michigan driver’s license online
renewal fee
is $18, plus $9 for any information changes and $7 if your renewal is late. 

Renew your license at a self-service station

If you’ve renewed your license in person in the past eight years and don’t need to change any information, you can renew at a
self-service station
. Here’s what you’ll need: 
  • Your driver’s license number
  • The $17 renewal fee, plus a $3.95 service fee and a 2.3% processing fee if paying by credit or debit card
The self-serve stations will print a temporary license for use until your permanent one arrives in the mail, so it’s a good option if you’re cutting it close to the deadline. 

Renew your license by mail

You can renew by mail if you meet all of the following criteria:
  • You have a standard license, enhanced license, or chauffeur's license. 
  • You aren't listed on the sex offender registry.
  • You didn't renew by mail, online, or at a self-service station the last two renewals.
  • Your Social Security number has been verified with the Social Security Administration.
  • Your license has not been expired for more than four years.
  • Your license has not been suspended, revoked, or denied.
When you receive your renewal notice in the mail, fill it out and sign the form. Update any information where indicated, and enclose a check or money order for the renewal fee.

Renew your license in person

Michigan requires all drivers to renew their licenses in person every 12 years, so chances are, you’ll have to do this option sooner or later. These renewals take place at a Secretary of State branch office. 
If you need to change any other information besides your address, this will also need to be done in person. Make sure to bring:
  • Your current driver’s license or ID
  • Your glasses or contacts lenses (there’s a vision exam)
  • Fee payment via cash, check, money order, Discover, MasterCard, or Visa debit or credit card
  • Necessary documentation for any changes being made to your license info
They’ll take a new photograph as well, so look sharp! You may receive a temporary license at these locations as well. 
rating reverse-full
"I’m earning
awesome rewards
every week, just for driving safe!”

How long does it take to renew a Michigan driver’s license? 

It takes about three weeks to process a driver’s license renewal in Michigan, so make sure you plan ahead, especially if you are renewing by mail or online. If you are renewing in person or at a self-service kiosk, a temporary license can be printed for you once you complete the process. 
If your license expires and you haven’t received the new one yet, don’t drive! There is no grace period for expired licenses in Michigan and the penalties are steep. 
“I was struggling to find an affordable deal in Detroit, because insurance here is so expensive. Filling out the information is painless, and I connected with an agent to talk about specific plans. I definitely could not have found a better deal without
!” —Marlin M.


There is no grace period for driving with an expired license in Michigan! If you’re caught driving with an expired license, it’s considered your first offense and can result in a fine of up to $500 and 93 days in jail. Penalties increase with each violation, so don’t put it off!
You can renew online as long as you have renewed in person at the Secretary of State’s office within the last eight years. A change of address can be done online, but anything else (like a name or Social Security number change) has to be done in person.
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings