Is My License Plate Frame Legal in Kansas?

License plate frames are legal in Kansas as long as your plate is fully visible. If your number or renewal information is covered, you could face a $100 fine.
Written by Brittni Brinn
Reviewed by Jessica Barrett
Updated on Jun 01, 2022
, license plate frames are allowed so long as they don’t interfere with the plate’s readability. If an officer can’t read your license plate, you could be pulled over and issued a $100 fine.
Whether it features a place you visited, a business you support, or a team you cheer for, a personalized license frame is a great way to share your interests while you’re on the road. Before you add that stylish frame, however, it’s important to make sure it follows the state laws.
For drivers in Kansas, license plate frames are legal—but there are a few caveats to note if you’re looking into plate covers or other modifications to your license plate. Car insurance super app
is breaking down the details of Kansas’s laws so you can avoid paying a fine and still drive in style.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
Yes, it’s completely legal to drive with a license plate frame in Kansas. The plate must be fully readable at all times, though—from the license number to the renewal information. If any part of the license plate is obscured, the frame may cost you a fine.

What are the rules for license plate frames in Kansas?

According to
Kansas Statute 8-15,110
, it’s illegal to display a license plate that is “covered, in whole or in part, with any clear or opaque material or any other plastic-like material that affects the plate's visibility or reflectivity.”
As long as your license plate remains completely visible, you are allowed to use a license plate frame.

What about license plate covers?

Unfortunately, license plate covers are not permitted in Kansas, even if they’re clear. Glare from the covers can make the license plate unreadable, especially for red light cameras. Even though license plate frames are allowed, license plate covers are not.

What are the fines for license plate frames in Kansas?

If an officer determines that your license plate frame interferes with the plate’s readability, you may have to pay a $100 fine.

How to find affordable car insurance in Kansas

Once you’ve got your personalized license plate frame in place, why not consider some personalized insurance coverage to match?
is a car insurance app and licensed broker that can find you tailored quotes from over 50 insurance companies in under a minute!
To sign-up, just answer a couple of questions and let Jerry do the rest—you don’t have to worry about long forms or tedious phone calls. Jerry will collect quotes based on your coverage needs and will offer you a list of the best rates available. Once you pick one, Jerry will even help you switch over from your old policy!
“You must get this app! It’s my first time getting my own insurance, so I called a few companies myself. Their rates priced me around $600/month. I used
and my rates went down to $250/month. I’m so happy!” —Melissa C.
Thousands of customers saved on average $887/year on their car insurance with Jerry
This app is great, but the customer service is even better! Not to mention convenient! My husband and I got the lowest rate (much lower than the rates I was finding online through my own searches), quickly, and pretty much all through text message! Thank you so much for a hassle free experience👍
Gabriella R.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
rating primary
4.7/5 Rating on App Store
Compare Car Insurance Quotes For Free
Jerry automatically shops for your insurance before every renewal. Members save $872/year.
rating primary
Rating on App Store
Start saving money!
12,000+ Reviews
Trusted by 3.5M car owners like you

You might also be interested

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free