Kansas Car Insurance Laws—All You Need to Know
Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
- Minimum requirements
- Is minimum enough?
- Penalties for no insurance
- Optional coverage
- Diminished value state
- Finding car insurance
Kansas law requires all drivers to have insurance. Minimum insurance laws in Kansas are summarized as 25/50/25 aka, drivers must have coverage for $25,000 in bodily injury per person, $50,000 in bodily injury per accident, and $25,000 in property damage per accident.
If you’re worried about the high costs of auto insurance, Jerry is here to save the day!
Jerry is a cheap car insurance comparison and broker app that does all your car insurance shopping for you—making sure that you are always looking at the best deals (think: lowest rates and best coverage) for your auto insurance. And, it’s always free to use!
The best part? The average Jerry user saves $879 a year on car insurance!
Read on for everything you need to know about car insurance in Kansas.
Car insurance requirements in Kansas
Kansas law requires all drivers to have liability insurance coverage, uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, and personal injury protection (PIP). Kansas also requires all drivers to always carry proof of insurance while they are driving.
|Minimum Liability Coverage: 25/50/25||Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage||Personal Injury Protection (PIP)|
|$25,000 bodily injury per person||$25,000 bodily injury per person||$4,500 medical expenses per person|
|$50,000 bodily injury per accident||$50,000 bodily injury per accident||$900 income loss per month (for one year)|
|$25,000 for property damage per accident||$25 per day for at-home services|
|$4,500 rehabilitation expenses per person|
|$2,000 funeral expenses per person|
Key Takeaway You must have liability coverage, uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, and personal injury protection (PIP) if you are driving in Kansas.
Liability coverage in Kansas
Kansas adheres to a 25/50/25 minimum liability coverage requirement. This means that you must have coverage for $25,000 in bodily injury per person, $50,000 in bodily injury per accident, and $25,000 in property damage per accident.
Liability coverage helps you cover the property damage and medical expenses of others if you are in an at-fault accident. Liability coverage does not cover your own property damage or medical expenses.
Remember, because liability coverage does not cover your own property damage or medical expenses, you will need to rely on PIP for coverage.
Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage in Kansas
Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage is required in Kansas. Uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance covers you if you are involved in an accident where the at-fault driver does not have insurance.
Personal injury protection (PIP) in Kansas
Kansas is a no-fault state, so all drivers are required to have personal injury protection (PIP). Regardless of who is at fault in an accident, drivers must utilize up to the limit of their own insurance policies to cover medical expenses for themselves and their passengers.
If the not-at-fault driver exhausts their insurance coverage limits, they may receive a payout from the at-fault driver to cover their remaining medical expenses.
State-mandated car insurance limits
An insurance limit is the maximum amount your insurance provider will pay to cover expenses in each category of coverage. The 25/50/25 mandated limits in Kansas refer to the minimum amount of coverage you are required to have in order to be considered a legal driver.
Do Kansas’s required insurance minimums provide enough coverage?
In general, Kansas requires more insurance than many other states, but it’s always a good idea to buy more than the minimum amount of insurance coverage required.
If you were ever involved in a serious accident, you would exhaust your limits quickly, and would be forced to pay any additional expenses out-of-pocket.
Increasing your insurance limits means a higher insurance rate—but that doesn’t mean those higher rates have to be outrageous. The car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry can help you find the lowest rates for the additional coverage you want.
Jerry gathers your information from your past insurer, so you’re not responsible for any long forms or phone calls. Basically, you get all of the savings and coverage, with none of the hassle.
Penalties for driving without insurance in Kansas
Because insurance is mandated in Kansas, there are various penalties for driving without insurance or without proof of insurance:
- SR-22 filing for 12 months (which will usually raise your insurance premiums)
- Fines from $300 to $1,000 for first offense
- Fines from $800 to $2,500 for subsequent offenses
- Up to 6 months in jail
Along with the legal penalties for driving without insurance in Kansas, you will almost certainly face higher insurance rates in the future if you are found to be driving without insurance.
Optional auto insurance coverage in Kansas
There are additional forms of car insurance coverage that you can purchase in the state of Kansas if you are looking for more than just the legal minimum:
- Comprehensive coverage can cover the costs of physical damages to your vehicle that are not the result of a collision (e.g. vandalism).
- Collision coverage can help you cover the cost of repairs for your vehicle after a collision with another vehicle or fixed object.
- Medical payments coverage covers the cost of medical bills or funeral expenses resulting from a collision.
- Roadside assistance helps with things like fixing flats, towing, or jump-starting a battery. The type of coverage will vary between policies and companies.
- Rental car reimbursement will cover the cost of a rental vehicle if you are unable to drive your car.
Kansas is a diminished value state
Kansas is a diminished value state, which means that if you are the victim of a car accident for which you are not at fault, you can collect coverage for the diminished value of your vehicle.
Even when repairs are made to your vehicle to restore it to its pre-collision condition, the resale value of your vehicle decreases. Kansas’s diminished value law allows you to recoup some of this lost value from the at-fault driver’s insurer.
There are a few requirements for filing a diminished value claim in Kansas:
- You must file your claim within 2 years of the accident.
- You must not be the at-fault party in the accident.
- You must provide proper documentation for damages (photos, paperwork regarding the value of your vehicle).
- Kansas does not have uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage for diminished value claims.
Key Takeaway Don’t drive without insurance in Kansas, as there are various penalties you will face for doing so. Make sure you have the legally required coverage as well as any additional car insurance coverage you may want.
Where to buy car insurance in Kansas
When driving in any U.S. state—Kansas included—the car insurance comparison app Jerry is the best way the lowest insurance rates possible—without the headaches of calling around endlessly for insurance quotes.
Jerry takes your information and brings you car insurance quotes from over 40 of the top insurance providers. Your job? To simply put in your information (it takes less than a minute)—then scroll through your quotes and shop away!
Once you find a policy you’d like, Jerry helps you with all the phone calls and paperwork to purchase and finalize your policy. And, since Jerry is a broker, you’re spared the annoyance of being redirected to another insurance provider’s platform.
The average Jerry customer saves nearly $900 a year on car insurance—and, Jerry is always 100% free to use. And, Jerry automatically shops around for you every six months to make sure you’re always getting the best deals on your policies.
“I got quotes from Jerry fast—and way more than I could have found on my own. They were even able to get a better offer from companies they regularly partner with by asking if I mind waiting a week’s time to start coverage for an even better deal. I went with the option of their A.I. algorithms bot to shop around for new deals every 6 months for maximum savings for me!”—Satisfied Jerry customer
Is car insurance mandatory in Kansas?
Yes, car insurance is required in Kansas. All drivers must have liability coverage, uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, and personal injury protection (PIP).
How does car insurance work in Kansas?
All drivers in Kansas are required to purchase liability coverage, uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, and personal injury protection (PIP). If you drive without insurance (or without the legally mandated minimum coverage), you will face various penalties, including fines and potential jail time.
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually