You can renew your Kansas driver’s license through the iKan app, online, in person, or by mail, as long as you meet the list of requirements for each renewal option. A regular Class C license costs $18 to renew ($12 if you’re 65 or above), plus an $8 photo fee if applicable. You can expect to receive it in the mail within 45 days.
Kansas lets you renew your license up to one year in advance, so if your renewal date is coming up there’s no need to wait. Driving with an expired license can result in jail time, hefty fines, and a 90-day license suspension. (And being banned from driving in Kansas might feel like jail time in itself!)
When to renew your driver’s license in Kansas
You can renew your license up to one year before it expires (as long as you’re 21 or older). But if you’ve procrastinated a little, don’t worry: you have a 45-day grace period to renew your license after it expires.
Your license comes up for renewal every six years (four years if you’re over 65) or on your 21st birthday. You’ll receive a renewal letter in the mail, but if you’ve recently moved or fear you tossed it out with your junk mail, just check the front of your driver’s license for the expiry date.
How to renew your driver’s license in Kansas
Whether you renew online, in person, or by mail depends on your situation and whether you meet certain requirements.
Renew your license online
Renew your license in person
Note that if you have a CDL license, you must renew this in person.
Renew your license by mail or email
This option is only available for Kansas residents who are out of state or out of country and who have a current driver’s license photo in the database.
Kansans located out of state can obtain a one-time, six-month extension on their expiring Kansas license. Only full-time students at out-of-state schools, active duty military members and their dependents, and missionaries located outside of the U.S. can fully renew their Kansas driver’s license through the mail.
How long does it take to renew a Kansas driver’s license?
It takes between 14 and 45 days to receive your new license in the mail, though most licenses arrive within 20 days.
How to save money on car insurance in Kansas
Think driving a big truck should mean a big dent in your wallet? Think again! The average Jerry customer saves over $800 a year on car insurance. That could buy a heck of a lot of brisket.